You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If You Love Me, Let Me Go

in #fiction7 years ago

This is so full of sadly acceptance. It reminds me of how, in a less strict sense, some things in life are just inevitable. And we have to patiently await them. Try to make amends with the outcome.

Amazing, as always.

Sort:  

This was a hard piece to write because I had to adjust my perspective on personal autonomy, love, trust and loss. I don’t encourage suicide, but there is also the aspect of how we are responsible for ourselves and cannot always hold someone back from their choices regardless of our preference. There is also truth in acceptance offering an alternate route to perceived freedom by depressed individuals. We can’t support when we sit in fear or judgment.

I agree, as difficult as it could be, people always have the last choice in their lifes. Even if those choices hurt us and would have prefered them in some other way. We always want the best for our loved ones, but what we perceive as best could not be what they want. The line dividing the point in where we are being helpful and where we are imposing ourselves is blurry

Also, I don't encorage suicide either, sorry if it came out that way. I was just extrapolating the meaning to situations of everyday life.

I didn't think you were encouraging. I read your comment as believing in autonomy. I think we're on the same page here. I'm grateful for your words.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62269.38
ETH 2424.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58