THE PEOPLE VERSUS JANET THORNE:- #3

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

Hey guys !!!!.
Ever imagined what it would feel like to be accused of something you didn't do.... This idea first came to me after an experience I had weeks back, and then I thought about putting down for all to read. Of course there's more drama added since it's fiction but I think it's a good one.


IF YOU HAVEN'T BEEN KEEPING UP, YOU STILL CAN!!!
PART ONE
PART TWO



IMAGE SOURCE


THREE DAYS TO DAY TWO TRIAL

"SAFE HAVEN, WEST VIRGINIA" Michael said as he dumped the stack of documents in front of David Standor and then took a seat opposite him.
" what the hell is this ?"
" evidence, bait every single document sealed and unsealed on Janet Thorne"
"You did your homework" Standor said smiling as he lifted one file.
" I did my homework" Michael said confidently with a smug smile.
" Turns out Janet actually went to a mental home called Safe Haven in West Virginia"
" She was there for three years as a judge declared her mentally unstable after murdering her father in self defense"
"self defense?" Standor asked as he looked at a picture of the late Robert Thorne, he didn't look like a man who would physically abuse his own daughter and wife.
" Turns out he had been abusing his wife for years and one day poor Jane ended her mother's misery by putting a bullet to his head"
" Her mother died in a fire, three weeks after she was released and she has pretty much been busy with other aspects of life since then"
" relatives ?" Standor asked again standing up this time
"subpoena them before Fletcher does... anyone you can find, friends, relatives, neighbors"
Turning to his secretary Donna he smiled and walked to her "This arrived for you from the detective's office" she said handing him a black diary.
He collected it and flipped it open immediately, scanning through the pages briefly. It was just as she had described, most of the pages were filled but it was certainly not difficult to note that at intervals three to five pages were left blank.
The dates also didn't coincide. He would go through it precisely later right now he had to deal with the most pressing issue that would determine the outcome of the next jury date.

He had to meet with Doctor Hessington.


IMAGE SOURCE

NINETEENTH JULY, 2011
I must admit, the reality of time continues to elude me, it gets scarier by the day. This time it's been three days and the last thing I remember is taking a break at work. I do not know what has happened between then and now. Alexa thinks I'm just stressed, she says I haven't been resting enough since the divorce.
I say I'm crazy, or maybe I'm getting there. It can't all be in my head, there must be something going on with me, I'm starting to feel more creeped out by the day...


Standor stared at the huge building in front of him. He had never really gotten around to understanding the fact why people, Parents and families put their loved ones in such places.
At least he hadn't experienced what it felt like to be related to a mentally incapable before but it didn't change how he felt about such places.

THEY HAD CREEPY HALLWAYS AND ROOMS WITH BONDS, NURSES DRESSED IN WHITE AND DOCTORS WITH WHITE BEARDS READY TO PUT YOU TO SLEEP FOR AS LONG AS IT TOOK

He didn't believe that such places did anything to improve the mental health of these individuals.
But that was he's believe, he had learned quite early that a good attorney never let his personal feeling cloud his judgement during a case and most importantly to defend your client was an obligation guilty or not. It came with the description of the job.
Talking to the receptionist had been quite easy since he was not here to see a patient and with a polite smile he followed the description of the woman and three minutes later found himself standing in front of the doctor's office.
With a quick knock followed by the voice telling him to come in, he swung the door open and stepped in.

Hazel brown eyes met his with a polite smile and an outstretched hand as he stepped in and for the first time in years Davis Standor found himself staring speechlessly without a well prepared introduction of himself.
" You must be Davis Standor, I'm doctor Eva Hessington" she said when he managed to accept the hand she offered.
Her skin felt very much as warm as her voice sounded. He had expected a white old man, with a protruding stomach and annoying accent to be the psychiatrist but instead hazel brown eyed brunette with a dashing smile and a british accent...

" I understand you are here concerning Janet Thorne, I received a call from the court when you went about digging through documents sealed at very great expense"
" I would say in my defense that it is my duty to know everything there's to know about my client for the purpose of the trial in order to avoid getting blind sided by the prosecuting defense"
Eva relaxed in her chair and studied him for a bit " considering you knew where to look, I take it Janet told you about her stay here"
" She wasn't really specific but yes, she made it clear she was diagnosed crazy before"
Eva gave a short laugh " She was diagnosed as a very depressed child with psychopathic tendencies at a young age Mr Standor and her three years here weren't the most successful ones in terms of mental health progress" she said bringing out some files she had reserved for this visit.
"I would like to view her files please" he asked
" I'm afraid I can't let you do that, I can answer your questions though if they are not harmful to my patients social welfare"
" Janet claims to have frequent amnesia starting from when she was discharged" he said flashing the diary in sight.
" I need you to come to New York and examine her, a current medical diagnosis would help the trial" he said
" you could have just called or sent a court invitation, she said considering I received one this morning from the New York's DA"s office"
" It's up to you Doctor, your testimony holds the future of this trial" he said standing up
" do you really think she is innocent ?" Eva asked, her prying gaze fixed on him
" my opinion does nothing to change the facts of the case"
Professional answer, she thought to herself and then closed her laptop " Then I'll see you in New York".

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97