Eyewitness - Flash Fiction

in #fiction5 years ago

baby3983448_1280.jpg

I told you the truth, but you said I was lying.

That night, I saw that woman being held by several men. She was helpless. She couldn't even scream. She could only cry. I was sitting on the sidewalk. My old legs trembled, unable to stand up. I want to throw whatever I can. Just to divert the attention of those wild men.

But I'm sure one of those men realized that I was sitting there that night. Because I heard one of them shouting: "Look, that old granny saw us!"

But I heard the other replied: "Leave it alone. I know her, she's just a blind homeless granny."

Maybe he is right. Maybe I'm blind. But I'm not a liar. That night I saw the woman struggling against those savage men.

I have seen that poor woman from the day before. My eyes are always closed since the day I was born. But actually, I can see the hues of light. I can see that poor woman has a rainbow wing. And those savage men have been eyeing her since a couple of hours before. I can see their heads were horned and their fangs were rotten.

"Hey! Wait a minute... a rainbow-winged woman? Men with horn?!" This young policeman kicked the table. "What the hell are you talking about?!"

"This is your fault," said his friend, "how come she becomes our only eyewitness in the first place"

"I have no choice! She was there when all this happened!"

Well, I already told you. I am blind. But I'm not a liar.

That night after those savage men dumped her, I saw another figure. I do not know whether he is a man or a woman, or that he is human at all. He glowed white and lit brightly. Throughout my entire life, there has never been a human who lit that kind of bright light.

I saw him wiping the wounds of the poor woman. I saw him carrying her away. I don't know how long I was stunned by that bright light. But when I heard sirens roar, then I heard you arrive, you said that the woman has died. I don't believe it. Because really, I saw that glowing person carrying her away.

"This is nonsense," said the young policeman.

"Her body has been autopsied," said his colleague, "this is a rape case, and those rapists bastard haven't been caught."

But I don't lie. The bright glowing person carried her away. The woman's rainbow wings dimmed with the blazing white light.

"If you say that person is an angel, I will be the happiest man on earth, and we will end this useless interview," said the impatient young police officer.

His partner snorted lazily.

Yes, it could be. I'm tired of explaining it anyway. I'm just a blind old woman. But certainly, I'm not a liar. If by calling that person as an angel will end this, so be it.

The young policeman began typing his report quickly. There wasn't any light emanating from him. There are no wings, no horns or fangs.

How dull, how boring ...


FIN


Image by khaled Aljaber from Pixabay


Sort:  

Okay, have resteemed to thousand followers..


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hi gibic,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

What an interesting short story, @gibic :) Gave me lots of things to think about and it's written so well, the way you move back and forth between the present and the woman's recollection is done super smoothly * ___ *

I wonder if she's really seeing what she said she saw or just believing that she saw them... And I love the final sentence, there's a strange arrogance in it, which contrasts very starkly against her character as a homeless, blind woman :)

Really cool~ Loved reading it !

Thank you spider! I'm glad you loved it. I've been trying to write more flash fiction, I really enjoyed it.
About the story, yeah, the basic idea is the irony (An eyewitness but blind, A homeless old granny but has this arrogance trait, law enforcers but they just too lazy to dig the facts). I don't have a large plot, so I just threw 'em on a scene, and see what will happen.

I'm still struggling with English writing, so the adjectives and the imageries won't be presented well on my stories. Lol. If I have enough time (and money), someday I'll convert one of my stories into a short film. Wish me luck. :D

Oh oh this is nice writeup, when I was reading it, the series 'The stranger things' came up in my mind. The particular scene when the policemen was not agreeing on what happened and called the eyewitness crazy and then they found the girl character that milli bobby brown was playing.

Hehe totally show level writeup. Good work Gibic :)

Hi, Vibi! Thanks. Oh, I love Milli Bobby Brown the super talented kid! I watched stranger things a lot, maybe some of the scenes did influenced me. I don't know. I just write for my own pleasure, really great if others find it enjoyable too. Thanks!

Oh yeah, then you would have got influenced from stranger things in a way, what we see surely opens new dimensions in our minds.

I would look forward for further great reads on your page :):)

Nice short story. Interesting plot. I don't know if there are really exist such extraordinary people but who knows there might be. Our association of good things to light and bad things to darkness has been a part of our ever-changing world and many different cultures.

I am saddened on how they find the testimony of the old lady ridiculous but I can't blame the policemen as well. Some just fail to critically analyze some situation because they choose to look at it very superficially. In my opinion, if they only put the fantasy note aside, maybe they can get something from the statement. They can get some clue on who to look after. At least it will not be futile for inviting the old lady at the station.

Thanks for the share @gibic. It is worth reading.

Thanks for your thoughtful comment. Yeah, that actually the basis premise when I'm writing this. I'm coming from a place where superstition things still hold a strong belief, many things irrational tolerable, so many discussions lost substances because we're busy talking about the superficial. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63747.71
ETH 2543.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66