Time heals all wounds - An original story - fiction - chapter 5

in #fiction7 years ago

 

Image source

Peter got out of the car and smiled at the little boy. 

Come on Duncan don’t be shy, come say hello to my friend Peter.” 

Duncan hid behind Sarah when Peter walked closer. 

Don’t worry he’s just shy"

Peter walked closer and stuck out his hand. Within seconds Duncan relaxed and grabbed Peter by the hand.  

Come on Peter, I want to show you my new Lego’s, come play with me…” 

He dragged Peter towards the house. Peter looked back at Sarah and he could see the laughter in her eyes. Sarah laughed.

 ”No wait little man, Peter’s got to go, we can’t keep him here.” Peter turned around and walked back to the car.  

"I really have to go. I need to go and finish unpacking. My house is a mess."

"You went out of your way for me, at least let me make you some coffee before you go, then you can meet my brother William."  

"Sure, but I really have to keep it short. It’s been a rough few days. "

 They walked inside and William and Peter immediately liked each other. While Sarah made coffee, they chatted like old friends. They discovered that they had the same Alma mater, and by the time Sarah came back they were best friends.  

One cup of coffee turned into a few beers, and by the end of the night Peter was a little sad to go home. He was not in the mood to go to a cold lonely house. 

 He drove away knowing that he made the right choice to move down here. He’s made three good friends in a matter of days and he felt more excited than what he felt in months.  

He unpacked a few boxes and decided to get some sleep. For the first time in months he slept like a baby.  He was awake before his alarm went off, but he felt totally refreshed. The fresh ocean air made him feel more relaxed and he slept like a log.  He showered, ate breakfast and got to the office just before eight o clock. 

He just sat down behind his desk, when his phone rang. It was William. “Saturday is Sarah’s birthday. We’re having a little gathering for her, and we would love for you to come. I think we really hit it off last night, and  you’ll be a great addition to this party. I’m sure that you will welcome meeting some more great people."

Peter gladly accepted. Life suddenly seemed great. He had a great job, lived in a great town and met some awesome people.  

He was especially looking forward to see Sarah again

He was startled when Mary suddenly spoke next to him. “Hi Peter, would you be willing to take photos at a kindergarten concert? Blake our social event editor is off sick, and I promised him that I would cover for him. Honestly I know it is not as exciting as a murder scene, but I’m definitely not build to be behind a camera, and I will really appreciate it if you could come take some photos for me."

Peter laughed. 

"I am sure that a kindergarten concert might be more exciting than a crime scene. I love kids, it would be a pleasure. Shall we take my car?"  

Please follow me if you enjoy my content


  

Sort:  

Excellent! Very well written (didn't think I read you huh?)

You better read me...lol! How are you Rich? I have always loved writing but never written longer stories...but every day one new chapter appears...I love it..

I'm good thanks... I never see comments on my stories from you anymore... Just your Mom (who I love, she's great)... I like the way your story is developing!

I have been working really hard and I've had a bad flu. I have a lot of catching up to do!

I finished The Lottery Council and the Night Gods II is shaping up nicely... there was a big surprise in the last chap. I had a dr's appointment today and she read some of the Lottery council- Now she's going to go back and read it all.

Any tips would be very welcome, this is a work in progress. I love your style but I've tried and this is where it ends..I write like this and can't make it more complicated, but it's easy to read I think...I've read too many Danielle Steele books...lol

There's not a thing wrong with your style... The only thing wrong is when people try to copy others- it comes off phony. You have a good style, it's yours and you should stick with it.

Thank you. I really appreciate your input. I've read your one story last night...and I like the way you think....I left a comment on your post.

I jus read chapter 1 and it got me interested :) Gonna read them all. Followed.

Thank you. Happy steeming!

Awesome story !! Your posts always have good things to learn from !

I wonder if this new happiness is going to last - keep on writing - I am eager to see how this turns out

I was going to ask you where you learned to write like that, but as you say its your own style and I like it. I get bogged down by the show not tell and end up not writing fiction at all. I should let it all flow out, like with my poetry. I do have a cozy mystery plot I'm aching to get out....

@hopehuggs You are a brilliant poet. You should definitely publish your poems. I have always written stories since I was a little girl...I just love it, and I honestly don't know where this comes from. I literally just start writing and an hour later...tada! I did not plan the story at all so I have no clue where this is going to end up. Is it not irritating to read a chapter a day? It would definitely be too long to publish at once but maybe I should make the chapters longer? Your advice would be appreciated!

I should probably just write and stop expecting to be a perfectionist. Poetry just comes out all at once. I love that you are making this story up as you go along, it is fantastic and leaves us all guessing too. I think that the chapters are a perfect length as they are. In fact, yours is probably the first serial that I have actually read on Steemit because it is short and digestible. Longer ones have put me off from even starting.

Its cool to read this , do you plan publish a book with this stories ?

Hi @patelincho I have no plans for a book yet. But I would really like to at the end of the day. I don't have a clue where to start though...lol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61251.21
ETH 2951.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52