The wake up call - Short story- Chapter four

in #fiction6 years ago

                                 

                                 Image source

Peter was startled and turned around quickly. Behind him was the most beautiful woman he had ever seen. Julia Lawson had stunning long dark hair and she had beautiful hazelnut eyes, that mesmerized him. He felt instantly attracted to her and he smiled when she held out her hand to him. 

"Julia Lawson. Please have a seat."

She showed him to the chair, and walked around the table to take a seat opposite him. 

"No use in postponing the inevitable Doctor Berkley. I represent my client, who still wants to remain anonymous. My client wants to offer you a great deal of money. How would you like to run your own hospital Doctor Berkley?"

"My own hospital? What exactly do you mean by my own hospital?"

"My client is prepared to build you your own hospital. You would have access to the latest technology and you would be in charge of everything."

Peter started laughing. He was caught totally off guard and it felt like he was in a dream. 

"Who in their right mind would spend all their money on building a hospital? Do you know what the costs involved would be?" 

"My client is prepared to pay whatever it takes. He has set aside two hundred million dollars for this project. More is available if needed. "

Peter whistled through his teeth. 

"What exactly is the catch here? Do I have to sell my soul to the devil or something?" he asked jokingly. 

Julia looked serious.

"There is no catch. My client was impressed with your skills as a doctor. You saved his granddaughter's life, and he wants to repay you. It is totally up to you if you want to take up this offer. If it was up to me, I would grab this with open arms. You will never get this opportunity again."

Peter was dumbstruck. He had no idea who would even want do this but it sounded like an opportunity of a lifetime. 

"I will have to think about this. Do I have time?"

"Sure I can give you a few days, and like I said, this is once in a lifetime offer."

Julia thanked him for his time and saw him to the elevator. 

Peter was totally dazed when he got into the elevator. He thought about everything that Julia just said and it seemed way too good to be true. He felt as if he was walking on clouds and it seemed far from reality. He finally made it to his car and sat for a minute trying to let everything sink in. 

Julia was right. It was the opportunity of a lifetime. If he decided to take up this offer, he would have to do a good lot of research. Perhaps he needed to take a few days leave to focus on that. Most of the staff would be back tonight, so it might be a good time for him to put in two weeks leave. 

He walked into the hospital but his mind was not at work. His brain was working overtime to process everything and when he walked into the office Brian immediately asked him what was wrong. 

"I just didn't sleep very well." Peter said and sat down in his chair. 

"I think I need a few days leave. It's been hectic these last few days and I haven't take any leave during this past year. Do you think you will be able to handle it if I take two weeks?" 

"I will make sure everything stays under control." Brian said and put his hand on Peter's shoulder before walking out to start his shift. 

The night progressed quickly. It started raining again and things became very hectic in the early morning. The fact that it was Friday night made it even worse, and they lost two patients. 

By four o clock things seemed to have slowed down, and Peter had made up his mind. He went to the office to fill in a leave form and sent it to the head of the hospital. 

For the next two weeks he would have all the time in the world to do his research and to find out who the person is that made him the offer. Peter finished off the paperwork for the night, and cleared out is locker. 

Just after six o clock he drove straight to Jess's apartment.  She was still fast asleep but eventually opened the door for him. She had a late night as well, and looked totally dazed when she opened the door for him. 

"What the hell Peter. Is something wrong?"

"I need to talk to you sis, but first I need some sleep."

He fell down on the couch and she brought him some coffee. They chatted a little before she went back to bed and he told her that he would tell her everything when they woke up. He fell asleep shortly after and slept like a baby for eight straight hours. He woke up with the smell of food and hungrily ate the food his sister presented to him. 

He was glad that he came here, he could always think better if Jesse was with him. They finished eating and then she asked him the question.

"So what is it that you wanted to talk to me about?"

"You won't believe it Jess, I have the opportunity of a lifetime and I'm not sure what I'm supposed to do."   

 -To be Continued-

                

                          

                         Animated Banner Created By @zord189 

                   

Sort:  

YES!!!
after the long opening story and intro this part is waited by readers, include me. But you can toying with the emotions of the reader. drag the tug drag to then you break up when all waiting with tension. A concurrent cinema technique that should be more interesting

I am Realy enjoy your story.

Ha ha thank you @rokhani your comments make me laugh...lol

it's fuction of friend, make laughing don make crying. As you do you entertain many people in steemit.
i am glad to know you in steemit

What a story 🙏🙏🙏

There has to be a catch here right? We shall see... And what a sister, taking care of her sweet brother with food! Always works!

Catching up on story now, to find out what sister has to say. Always need to clear the mind talking things over with someone close to you @giantbear

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63501.83
ETH 2650.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81