The last respect - An original short story - fiction

in #fiction7 years ago

                     

Image source

"I am so tired "  Jim said when he walked into the kitchen. "I didn't sleep a wink. These damn nightmares keep me awake half the night. I don't know how I'm going to make it through this day." 

"You're getting old Jim do you want some coffee?"  

"No thanks love, I'll get some myself.  You just sit down and relax for your big day." 

Jim stood up from the table and walked over to switch on the kettle.  

"What are you going to wear today love? I thought that pretty pink dress of yours would look wonderful."

"Oh Jim, that old thing. I haven't worn that in ages." 

Jim sat down at the kitchen table and drank his coffee. 

"Well I better go get ready for your big day Mary" 

He stood up and walked over to the bathroom to take a shower. He was still putting on his left shoe when the doorbell rang. He finished tying the shoe lace, and checked himself in the mirror.  

"Perfect."  

He smiled at himself and he knew Mary would be proud of him today. The door bell rang again and he left the room to open the door. It was Jack their eldest son.  

"Hi dad, are you ready to go?" Jack asked and closed the door behind them.  

"I am as ready as I can ever be" Jim said, as he climbed into the passenger seat of Jack's car.

When they arrived at the church there were already a few people. It was an open casket, and Jim walked over to the front of the church to go and check on Mary.  She looked absolutely lovely and peaceful in the beautiful pink flowery dress they decided on this morning. She smiled at him at she lay there quietly.  

The funeral was beautiful. They drove over to the cemetery and when the casket lowered into the grave, Jim saw that Mary was waiting for him next to her tombstone. She was smiling at him and waved for him to come over.  

Jack and Jeremy their middle son, caught him just before he fell forward into the grave. 

Finally he could hold her hand again. Jack and Mary smiled at each other as they walked away together hand in hand. Their orphaned children left astonished in grief as their parents passed away, exactly one week apart.   

Sort:  

Aw, a happy but sad end

Wow, what an amazing short story. It is so touching. When I worked at a Medical Center in Hawaii, we had patients who got sick because their spouses had died and they too soon died peacefully in their sleep. I can really relate to your story. When one is married that long, it is hard not to be with each other. I had to read your story twice! Thank-you for the touching moment!!!

That was a good story and I’m glad you shared it with us.

Congratulations!!


As a Team South Africa member, and due to the high quality of your post, you have been chosen to receive a well-deserved upvote from @mzansi 🇿🇦

Keep up the great work!! 😁

logo

To receive upvotes from me on all your posts, please consider delegating SP to me as per this post.

interesting story and good work my friend 💙

Echo's of memories for me @giantbear my parents 1 year and 1 week apart, a lovely story and a fact of life.

Heart touching story..
Thanks for sharing...

Very nice story.

A very touching story of love, life, and endings. Well done.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93