The attic - Chapter 11

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

Image source

Moira couldn't fall asleep.  She was thinking about the whole thing with Vincent and the detective that was coming the next morning.  She went to check on Vincent a few times and this time he was sound asleep in his bed.  He was so tired after the whole day of fun they had yesterday and she couldn't help but smile when she closed the door for the last time before going to the kitchen. 

She decided to spoil him with some pancakes and a good whole English breakfast and by six o clock that morning she went to wake him up. He smiled at her and seemed excited to see her.  He quickly went to the bathroom and a few minutes later joined her in the kitchen dressed up in his new clothes.  He grinned when he saw all the food, and sat there waiting for her to dish up.  

He ate like he has never seen food before, and she laughed when he asked for more pancakes.  They sat in silence, but he smiled at her though the eating and finally when he was done he washed his plate and sat down at the table again.  

"What is going to happen to me?" he asked out of the blue, and it seemed like he was worried about what was coming. She wanted to put his mind at ease and said:

"I am not going to let anything happen to you. The detective is coming today and he is going to help us find your parents."

"I'm scared. I don't remember them so well, and I don't know if they want me back."

"Of course they want you back. They love you and they would never throw you away."

"Why did they stop looking for me? I waited for such a long time, and nobody ever came to take me back."

Moira sighed.  She told him everything that she had read on the internet and explained to him why no one was looking for him anymore. 

"If they don't want me, could I live here?"

Moira smiled at him. "Of course silly, but I'm sure that everything will be fine. You can come and visit me anytime."

Vincent knew that he could trust Moira. In the last three days she has treated him with the utmost respect and he did not have to hide anywhere. While he stayed with uncle Allister he had to hide away often because he mistreated him. 

"Do you know who kidnapped you Vincent?"

Vincent nodded and immediately stressed up.  Moira could see the anxiety in his eyes.  

"Do you want to tell me what happened to you?" Moira asked cautiously not to scare him into silence again.

"I lived with uncle Allister.  Uncle Allister is not a nice man."

"Do you know where uncle Allister lives?" 

"Uncle Allister lives at 145 Lantern avenue, but uncle Allister is not there anymore."

"What happened to uncle Allister, Vincent?"

"Uncle Allister fell, and some people came and took him away, but they did not see me, I was hiding."

Moira shuddered to think how long this child had to stay alone, before he got away. She didn't want to know what happened to him.  All she wanted to do was to reunite him with his parents. 

She didn't want to pry more, and gave Vincent some juice to drink.  He was halfway when they heard Billy's truck outside. Vincent ran outside to help Billy inside and he seemed to be relieved that Billy was also there.  

"Good morning little man, how are you this morning?  You look so handsome in your new clothes."

"We had pancakes for breakfast. Moira makes the best pancakes in the world. Will you make him some Moira please?

Moira laughed.  Billy sat down and Vincent went outside to play with the ball. 

"He seemed quite relaxed this morning?" Billy said and Moira told him what Vincent had told her.  

"I'm going to wait with you for the detective. I asked Vera to open the shop so I'll go in later."  

Moira made him some pancakes and a few minutes later Vincent ran inside with his eyes wide open.  

"They are here. Please don't let them take me away again." 

Vincent went to stand next to Moira as if she needed to protect him and Billy opened the door for the detective. 

They all greeted each other and when detective Santos saw the boy, his mouth fell open and all he could say was 

"I'll be damned."   

-To be continued-

Chapter 1 - https://steemit.com/fiction/@giantbear/the-attic-chapter-1

Chapter 2 - https://steemit.com/fiction/@giantbear/the-attic-chapter-2

Chapter 3 - https://steemit.com/fiction/@giantbear/the-attic-chapter-3

Chapter 4 - https://steemit.com/fiction/@giantbear/the-attic-chapter-4

Chapter 5- https://steemit.com/fiction/@giantbear/the-attic-chapter-5

Chapter 6- https://steemit.com/fiction/@giantbear/the-attic-chapter-6

Chapter 7- https://steemit.com/fiction/@giantbear/the-attic-chapter-7

Chapter 8 - https://steemit.com/fiction/@giantbear/the-attic-chapter-8

Chapter 9 - https://steemit.com/fiction/@giantbear/the-attic-chapter-9

Chapter 10 -https://steemit.com/fiction/@giantbear/the-attic-chapter-10

Sort:  

surely i will be damned! if i dont get the next chapter asap!
nice one dear. keep it coming. I wonder why the detective was so awed seeing Vincent! any tips;)

good wrote dear
thanks for sharing
keep it up
@giantbear

This is a great story... I particularly like the style of narrative. I am eager to know who the detective is to Vincent... Will definitely take my time to read through the previous chapters. We'll done @giantbear

Thank you @juceleonu I appreciate your comment.

Wow good information on one post, I wait for your next posting

That's wonderful first time am reading your post, interesting , is the book out yet because I can't wait to read them all to the end, am new here, Saw your post and swimming in love with it. Keep it up , keep making stimeet interesting.

Great stuff! I will make a point to read the earlier chapters. Also, thank you for the idea of linking all chapters at the bottom. I'm writing a novel too and will do the same.

Great work, looking forward to the next Chapter

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67879.12
ETH 3787.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.46