The witness - Fiction- Short story - chapter 5

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

Image source

Jessie made an excuse at work and drove to Peter's house as fast as she could. She found him in the kitchen and it looked like he just lost someone dear to him.  He sat with his hands in his hair and he looked depressed as hell.  She made him some coffee and took a seat opposite him.  

"Well that is that then....you are no longer involved. No more money no more gun. All worked out perfectly."

"Someone broke into my house Jessie. While I was sleeping...someone invaded my privacy and walked into my bedroom.  Everything is not fine."

"Have you phoned the police?"

"Hmmm yes and tell them what exactly? The gun and the money I stole, was stolen from my house..."

"I need to phone Matt. He will know exactly what to do."

"I'm not so sure about it Jess, what if he is a corrupt Policeman and he is taking us for a ride."

"Matt will never betray me....for personal reasons but he would never..."

She took her phone and dialed Matt's number. His phone was switched off, but she left him a message and hoped that he would get back to her soon. 

" Well that just proofs everything!" Peter shouted angrily.  

"You bring your so called friend in here, and now he ran away with the money and the gun. What if he blames everything on me?"

"There is no need to yell at me Peter. I know you are nervous, but seriously you need to calm down."

"I'm sorry...I just don't know what I'm going to do."  

Just when Jessie was about to switch on the kettle her phone rang and she saw that it was Matt. 

"Hey Matt....we need to tell you some..." Matt interrupted her before she could finish. 

"Turn on the news..."

 Jessie walked to the living room and switched on the news while Matt was still on the phone. 

"I'll call you back Matt." 

She called Peter to come and see. They only caught the last part, but it was enough to make Peter smile for the first time in two days. 

Thanks to police officer Matt Lainey from the Brooklyn police department, the mysterious robbery at the United bank on Thursday had been resolved. The stolen money was recovered this morning as well as the murder weapon. Officer Lainey went jogging on his usual route this morning, when he found the duffel bag with the gun stuffed under a bush. No arrests has been made but the police are investigating. 

Matt answered the phone immediately when Jessie phoned him back. 

"We owe you Matt...big time "

"I'm sorry I didn't call earlier. But I had to book in the evidence and it took longer than expected. Just tell Peter the next dinner is on him."

She put the phone down and smiled. 

"It's over Peter. Everything is exactly the way it's supposed to be..."

"Except it's not..." 

Peter said and walked to the bedroom to fetch the rest of the money. He put the other two stacks of money on the kitchen table.  There must have been at least two hundred thousand in brand new crisp notes.  

"There is no way that I could give this to Matt now. He helped me out big time, but this is going to get him in trouble."

Jessie smiled. 

"There are times in life where you just have to bend the rules a little Peter. Silence is golden... and by the way....it's your turn to buy dinner tonight." 

- The End-

     

                           

                          

                                   Animated Banner Created By @zord189

 

Sort:  

So what's he now going to do with the money? Would his conscience allow him spend it?

I feel the story should have gone on a little bit.

Thanks for your input. To be honest this whole story turned out differently than what I planned. Let's hope the next one is better...lol

Let's hope so.

I think the ending was brilliant, I didn't see it coming. :)

Great Ending. Though, I was wrong suspecting Jessi. Who knows what would have happend if she stole it? Inspiring!

I love the ending, everyone is happy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57030.30
ETH 2858.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62