Chapter 1: What if tomorrow never comes?

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

people-2597454_640.jpg
Image source

His stance was extraordinaire as he delivered his speech in front of his audience which included me. He was absolutely captivating when he tried to deliver something out of the ordinary.

The man of my life in front of me is being hailed as a good politician. All eyes were focused on him and him alone. Their hands then clapped as he finished delivering his speech. He has been known to be very well-versed in speech and articulate.

Ladies near him wanted to take a photo with him. It seemed that they had been starstruck of my dear Johnny. They forgot he is already married and have three kids with me.

He was polite to give them what they wanted, but he was a gentleman too to know his limitations. If he would have given in with one of those ladies who wanted a kiss from him on the cheek, I would instantly glide on the floor and smack him on his lips.

Science_Backed_Tips_for_Public_Speaking.jpg
Image Source

I stared at them intently for few more seconds and then he noticed me staring at them. He bid goodbye to his fans and to his staff, and smiled at me, his very dear wife.

Sweetie, were you jealous of them? he asked me as he pinched my nose. We were walking towards the parking lot when he started to ask me with such intriguing questions.

Oh! Why would I be jealous of those pricks? They are not even your type. I am the one you only like right? I answered him as he opened the cars door for me. You know me too well sweetie. I do not need to remind you how much I love. My actions speaks a lot. He answered as he turned on the engine.

man-driving-in-car-in-the-city-ride-share-uber-lyft-getaround-zipcar-640x426-c.jpg
Image Source

We were heading to my mother's house after his campaign on the town nearby where we reside. I am pretty sure he is going to win again this time but for a higher political position. He had always been so compassionate in serving other people. He is incorruptible and efficient too. I really commend him a lot for his work ethics.

Sweetie, it was tiring for you to stand there and wait for me for an hour. Are you sure you're okay? he could not stop being worried at me and I know you will all say he is overreacting. Indeed he is, but I really got used to it. In fact, I love it so much when he becomes so concern about me.

I am pretty sure I am okay. I just love watching you speak in front of the people around you. You make me love you more and more each day. I told him as I put my left hand on his lap. I yawned and wanted to nap for a bit so I told him. He reminded me of my seat-belt although I already did before he started the engine.

The cake was somewhat bittersweet but I loved it.

I was half-awake. I cannot help but to recall everything we had been through as friends and now as a couple.

We were never friends. We were actually enemies in class. We both took Political Science in a prestigious university. It may sound cliché but we came from different worlds.

His father was a politician before he died. Actually, his dad committed suicide after his sex scandal leaked online. They were from a conservative catholic family and adultery has always been a taboo. Although his family has always been supportive of him, and his wife has been so forgiving, he could not contain it so he took his life with a bullet.

We were still studying when the tragedy happened and it really affected him so much. He was slacking off in class and was getting s failing marks from major subjects. He had always been an exemplar student in class and we always compete for perfect scores like kids.
The professors were so worried about him so one time, my favorite professor asked me to make sure he is doing okay and he will not commit suicide too. I said no at first of course since like I said, we were never friends to begin with. But then Professor Smith told me that he will fail me in his subject if I would not do their request, so eventually I gave in. I never wanted to fail in his class and I never wanted to lose my scholarship. That would definitely be terrifying.

Since he was not coming to class anymore, I asked his friends for his address. After our morning class, I excused myself to the faculty and told them to that I will check how Johnny has been doing.

how-to-save-money-on-bus-travel-nwt-1-768x512.jpeg
Image Source

I took the bus and travelled for an hour. It was such a hassle, but I have thought that it would be more of a hassle when I fail in one of my major subjects. I looked at the window and saw the lush and verdant grass near the highway. It was as if they were dancing as they swayed when the wind blew them. It reminded me then of Four Seasons by Vivaldi, a sweet melody that was played by a mysterious guy at the back of the school. Since then, I could not help but wonder and think of the wonderful hands that played the violin.

The driver told me that I am already on my destination. He was cheerful when he teased me that I will be seeing Johnny. He told me awhile ago that he used to work in their farm so he basically knows where his Johnny's family reside.

I must say, their house is quite big and there were a lot of plants outside. I wanted to take a photo of it with my DSLR but I realized that it was not my intention to be excused at school and travel for an hour.

I rang the doorbell and then the image of Johnny appeared in front of me when the door opened. We were both shocked to see each other but I regained my consciousness. What are you doing outside my house? Why does he looks so gorgeous although it seems he was not able to take bath for days!

I really thought he would still be rude at me but then he added. Come. Get inside. As we walked along towards their garden, I saw a lot of wonderful paintings inside their house. I wanted to asked him where they got it but it seemed that he can read my mind. Those paintings were made by my older brother, Vincent, but he does not live with us anymore. I wanted to know more about his brother but then I recalled that Johnny and I were not that close.

But then he started talking again. He does not live with us anymore because dad brought him to a mental institute few years ago. He fell in love, loose the screw in his head, gone crazy. He does not deserve such a tragic ending. He has always been a good man.

Uhmm I see. Those were the only words I was capable of saying at that time.

I looked around and I realized how beautiful their house is and how handsome the man is in front of me. But I could feel the emptiness around me. I could feel the sorrow of Jonny and so I started to open up with him. In times like this, I do not need to think about the times he made fun at me at school, but instead I need to be a friend of him who listens intently. You do not deserve this as well I told him while trying to stare at his gaze at me.

I was expecting he would counter it with such defense mechanism but he did not. It seems that he had been alone for days and was not able to express all the sorrow and loneliness he is feeling. Johnny hugged me tight and I could feel the tears falling on my shoulders. I hugged him tighter.

He was like that for almost an hour. I understand him fully although there were no words expressed by him. And then my phone rang.

Just give me a second. I think it is my mother. I told him as I tried to break loose from his arms.

My mom was just checking on me and I told her that I am currently at Johnny's house. She said I just need to go home before the sun goes down and apparently the sun is going down already.

Uhmm... Johnny, I think I need to go. Mom was looking for me already. I wish to see you at school tomorrow, okay? I told him as I picked my bag and kissed him on the cheek. He was obviously startled. I, myself, was startled of what I did.

That was really embarassing.

On the following day, I was expecting him to be in school already. You know, it does not seem like it, but I am a nice person.

Unfortunately, he did not come to school.

It was the day after when he went back to school. He was seated few rows away from me but then he chose to sit beside me. The people around were curious because they have known us as Tom and Jerry, but they also thought that maybe sitting beside me will make Johnny better.

The class has started and Professor winked at me when he saw Johnny sitting beside me. Thank God, I made the mission right! I expect not to fail in his class! Yahoo!

During lunch break, Johnny decided to sit beside me too but this time, he started to open a conversation. Eugene, thanks a lot. I really appreciate it.

Oh, no worries. I just did what is right. How are you feeling now?

I feel somewhat okay. Here, I will give you something as a token of appreciation. He said smiling at me as he handed me a bracelet.

I wanted to insist to him that he does not need to give me something like this, but I just let it pass. Anyway, we had been doing pretty well for hours and I do not want to ruin my day just because we had another conflict again.

love-1751071.jpg
Image Source

Days have passed and we became good friends. It was after college when he asked me to be his girlfriend. I was shocked of course because he was like a brother to me and it felt like he treated me as his sister. But I said yes of course because I felt the same feeling towards him.

I have always thought of happy endings

Years had passed and we both had a career and a passion for life. Johnny finished law school while I work for uncle as one of his staff members.

Johnny must had been drunk when he called me. He was blabbering something when he was out with his friends to celebrate the day when they passed the bar exams. I was out of town because of work so I was not able to congratulate him personally.

Sweetie, I cannot hear you. I told him as I could only hear vague words, screams, and shouts on the other line.

He might have went to the bathroom or outside the club because it was quite then.

Sweetie He started. I wanted you to be here right now please. He seemed to be crying while on the other line.

Sweetie, you know I cannot be there right now. We are still in the office and working on something very important. I told him and trying to make him understand. I feel bad for him too that he cannot come.

Okay. He said and ended the call.

I know he hates me now. I am pretty sure of that. I really planned to be with him when the results are out but something came up pretty urgent. I never doubted that he would pass the bar exams so I planned everything out.

An hour after he called, my co-worker called me to go outside because someone was looking for me. I told her, it might just be a nuissance so there is no need to hassle myself, but she said it was very important. I headed down then since I got hands up from my direct supervisor.

Outside was Johnny with bouquet of my favorite white flowers and his friends were around playing a symphony -- the amazing Four Seasons of Vivaldi.

I always wondered for years of the mysterious guy that played my favorite symphony, and it was just him. The answer has always been with me all along. He took his violin and played with them. I could not contain my joy. I know it was pretty embarassing for him to do such thing because he is not the showy type of person.

He gave his violin to his friend when they were finished playing and then bended on his knees. Since, I cannot wait to say this to you,I am sure you know I always wanted to say this to you Eunice. You had always been my sunshine on a cloudy day. You had always been my ray of hope amidst all the circumstances I had been and will be in my life. You had always been the apple of my eyes. You had always been the life of my life. I want to take this cold and evening opportunity to ask you this. Will you be my wife?

Everyone were screaming for us even the people in our building. I blushed from embarassment but at the same time my heart was beating fast because of too much happiness and excitement.

One small mistake may lead to a bigger problem

I was not sure what happened but the moment I opened my eyes, I was already in the hospital. There were medical people in front of me while they were trying to rush me inside the Emergency Room. My husband I could barely say those words. My heart felt heavy and my body was numb. One doctor checked on me and I fell asleep.


Image Source

I think a day has passed when I woke up. The first thing that popped into my mind was the love of my life. I do not mind how badly bruised my body is, I just wanted to see him and make sure he is okay. I tried to call the person inside my room to ask him but instead he called the doctor.

The doctor rushed inside my room and smiled as he saw me awake. I was so curious about ny husband so I asked him about Johnny. He said, I should only ask when I would be okay, at the mean time he told me to relax. Madame, I would like to tell you that your baby is safe.

Shocked. That was my initial response. I did not know that I was pregnant at that time even before the accident happened. The doctor explained to me that my two month old baby inside my belly is fine.

I see. Thank God. But doc, I did not know that. Now, please tell me how my husband is doing? I asked him again for the nth time.

I am sorry to say Ma'am that your husband is in critical condition.

What do you mean that he is in critical condition? I was furious at that time then. I wanted to see my husband. I wanted to slap the doctor in case he was just joking at me.

Your car bumped into another car when Atty. Johnny was driving the highway. He was badly wounded and it caused some trauma on his head.

I could not contain it anymore so I jumped off my bed and asked the doctor multiple times where my husband is. When he told me, I immediately went to my husband. He was in the ICU. I could bear myself in too much pain but seeing the man I love in such condition, it was just too much.

I prayed that he will make it. I prayed and asked God that my family will be complete. I could not afford to lose my husband especially that we were just starting to build this family. I love him so much and it was killing me seeing him in such condition. I hope tomorrow, he will wake up and be okay.

gailbelga.jpg

Sort:  

Great writing Johanna Gail!Dahil ikaw ay anak ni Paka king!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @gailbelga to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

imagine if steemit can include a theme song playing while reading this right ? nice one @gailbelga

Oh em gee! This video made it look perfect! Precisely kuya @precise. Or I could just narrate it or turn it into audiobook wherein users can just listen to it plus that background music.

Good post, I am a photographer, it passes for my blog and sees my content, I hope that it should be of your taste :D greetings

Oh thanks =) ♡

This post was promoted with @monitorcap traffic bot & STEEM promotion service.

Send MIN. $1 SBD to @monitorcap bot with your link in MEMO field
and recieve upvotes & resteems for your posts. @monitorcap - where 'seen' matters !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63235.53
ETH 2558.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63