You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Sacred Crop (Short Story) - Finish the Story Contest Week 42

in #fiction5 years ago

This is a smooth continuation of the first half, I love that first paragraph. Great development of the characters, Thomas was not the only one afraid of ‘the changed’. What caused these violent and disfigured people?

Sort:  

Thanks @gaby-crb.

What caused these violent and disfigured people?

Your question makes me happy as I wanted to leave the reader with questions about the history and background of what left these 'changed' people so damaged and the people who aren't... why are they where they are who they are etc. I think it is so difficult to build solid characters, back story and plot in 500 words so I always try my best to just make sure that I build an impression of the scene/world in the finish the story and leave it open to intriguing questions that people hopefully answer themselves. Lol, always keep the audience guessing is the expression. Thanks for such a great opening! There were so many little details for me to build from; Kaylas injury, Thomas' timidness, the dusty starkness of the environment these details gave me something strong to build upon.

To answer the question, in my mind the back story was that it was a post apocalyptic world where some people had been ravaged by a genetic disease while others hadn't. Those who were left healthy preyed on those who weren't.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57453.27
ETH 2928.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67