You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Baby in the Blender: How I Learned to Love Critique

in #fiction7 years ago

This was brilliant! I had this whole revelation. As someone who would like to be good at writing, I have felt the "But that's my baby!" feeling, but what you said about it only being words strung together struck a cord. The words you choose isn't the baby, the story is. So, let the hack saw come! Haha! Thanks so much for this perspective!

Sort:  

YES! Exactly! This is the perspective folks need. It isn't about hurting you or destroying anything. It's about helping you become a better author and helping make your story the best story it can be!

Thank you @bex-dk! I hope I continue to keep that perspective haha. Maybe I should make a sign that says, "They're just words strung together!" Or that could become a new badge at the end of my posts.

Awesome. You won't regret it. I learn more from receiving and giving critiques than anything else. Of course even more important is the writing so that you can put those lessons into practice.

Yes! You mentioned a peer review group, I might have missed something, but is there a group like that available here?

Hi @freedomtowrite. Come and say hi to the crew at The Writers' Block on discord.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64344.88
ETH 2629.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83