200 Word Prompt - 200 Word Limit - Two Hundred Memories

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

The snow fell gently as Kevin led Sarah out of the Valentine's Day party, and out onto the walkway. The air was crisp in their lungs; their exhales disappeared with each breath. His strong hand, gripped hers lightly, but Sarah was concerned something was wrong.

When he had picked her up an hour earlier, he smiled, but hadn't spoken a word. She tried to think of something to say, but each time she opened her mouth, her throat went frustratingly dry. Even after they had joined the party, Kevin seemed distant, and Sarah found herself trying to carry on conversations for both of them. Now, standing in the courtyard, he picked up both of her hands.

"Sarah," he began. She looked down, heart pounding.

"I can't...I don't," he shook his head laughing heartily.

"What..." Sarah started, but he interrupted her with a kiss.

"What I'm trying to say," he whispered. "And I don't think I am doing it well, is that...when I look into your beautiful hazel eyes, I see my future. I see two hundred of my favorite memories that haven't even happened yet! Can't you see it? I'm in love with you, Sarah, I'm in love!"


Thanks for reading this contest entry hosted by @moneyinfant! I definitely need to give a hefty shout out to the man that I share two hundred memories with @freedompoint! Not only does he inspire me regularly, but he helped me brainstorm on this until I had something I was excited to share. Hope you enjoyed it!

With much love,

Stacie D

Sort:  

Very sweet and nastolgic...

Thank you! I really enjoyed writing it...thanks for reading and commenting!

Sweet!!!
Memories are priceless.

Keep writing!

Thank you for your encouragement! I really enjoy writing in short bursts!

Thank you! I used your name for upvote bribery! Hahaha I'm kidding!

Lol well I didn't mind it! That's a great name!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58169.95
ETH 3145.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38