You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Waterfoul, Part 4: Pitcairn Isolation

in #fiction7 years ago

Great post!

Just realising that from your point of view, Svalbard must seem like the most distant place on Earth!

While for us Norwegians involved in the Space sector, it is a place we visit quite frequently due to its importance as the location for satellite ground stations (see picture below). As a majority of satellites choose an orbit where they spend a significant amount of time above the North-pole, they are able to transfer their data to these ground stations on every orbiting turn (unlike many parts of the globe).

I think you just gave me an idea for a new blogpost I should do down the line! :)

Svalbard-GS1-credit-KSAT.jpg

Sort:  

Woah cool, you get to see it all! I learn something every time you type, but still glad I could inspire you =D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64476.22
ETH 3153.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54