You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I spam, beg and plagiarise

in #fiction7 years ago

I wish to add an additional factor here.

So, I swallow my pride, I use what I have and do the best I can so my daughter need not have her dreams stolen, at least not yet. Perhaps I could learn to use what I have better, perhaps in my position, someone else could be successful or luck would swing their way. Who knows.

Often it isn't necessarily a matter of swallowing pride but instead it's an entry to a sector, to sustainability, a future even. Especially the freelancing writing world is fiercely competitive, also disrupted by a continued race to the bottom (Hello Fiverr, 1.5k-2k words for $5!!!).

How will an entrant, with limited skills, improve themselves sufficiently to stand a chance in that selection process? Who pushes them, who challenges them, where is the inspiration to improve?

When do they have time to work their craft and possibly fix years old (grammatical) errors? Then when that hard battle has been won, suddenly they will take 3-4 times longer to write. Queue the compulosory brain relaxation required after crafting high quality content.

Will it reward them accordingly tho?

I have worked with sweatshop authors. It was a difficult challenge to help them develop and improve themselves. Even more so when it came to the point that the easy road was sufficient to be self-sustainable. I also have seen similar with developers btw.

Not everyone aspires to be an ace. And some who do will never have anybody helping them to polish their raw talent.

Sort:  

I have trained business English for many years and was advised to help them improve their language. What I quickly found was that the much better approach was to help them better themselves. An improved personal position is much more useful for their purpose than a comma or a preposition in the right place.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66188.19
ETH 3564.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.14