Taea's Tale - Chapter 1 - Fantasy Fiction Short Story

in #fiction8 years ago

Taea's Tale

Chapter 1

I was having a dream. I knew it was a dream because it didn't make any sense. I was pulling a sled and when I pulled it I was able to fly. Then my three-winters old brother wanted to ride in it. I told him to hop on. He did and I started to pull the sled over the mud. I was running and then we started to fly. It was great. My little brother was screaming with joy.

My mother wanted to get on too. "Of course," I told her and she got on. I loved my mother, and started pulling, but it was heavier. I put all my strength into it and we were moving fast. But it was too heavy and I couldn't move it fast enough. I put everything into it, and my legs started moving for real. I was kicking the bed.

I woke up then, sweating, and with sore heels from all the kicking. I looked around the room. Ma wasn't in her bed across the room and Little Blue wasn't in his. We called him Little Blue because that was his favorite color. His real name was Billy.

There was a light coming from outside the window. It was the middle of night so there should not have been any light. I heard yelling. It sounded like the neighbor's son, Tommy the Toad. There was more yelling from people whose voices I did not recognize. I climbed out of bed and looked out the window.

The light was from a fire. The stables across the road was on fire. People were running and some were not. Some were lying on the ground. It looked like they were dead. Some of the people--the ones with the armor and weapons--were chasing the townspeople. They were killing them. It was a raid.

To be continued...

#fiction #fantasy #story #taeastale

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60875.99
ETH 3386.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57