Fiction Trail: Author Smackdown with @michelle.gent

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

Fiction-Trail: Author Smackdown!
Every week fiction-trail will choose an
an author and contributor of Fiction
on Steemit and poke them with our probing talk stick!


This week we speak to a curator of fiction-trail @michelle.gent! Lets see what's hiding behind her wolfen ways

FT: How and when did you first learn about Steemit?

MG: A friend on Facebook Huck Spit posted about this new blogging site and I clicked the link as soon as I saw it. I joined the same day!

FT: Smashing and when was that?

MG: 22nd August

FT: An old timer then! What piqued your interest in the Trails?

MG: I like the idea that we are helping people who are just starting, perhaps struggling with their Steemit experience. I also like the team I work with.

FT: It is a rather splendid team!

FT: Can you give us an insight into your history as an author

MG: . A number of years ago, being just a reader, I read a series of books that disappointed me. I thought: "I can do better than this," and so I had a go.

I wrote my first novel whilst working as a Bouncer at a nightclub.

The second novel came fast on its heels and that was entered for the Orange Prize For Fiction competition.

The third novel and a series of short stories, opportunities of acting as a judge in story competitions and a stint as Editor In Chief of a large, successful online magazine, film producer etc, gave me enough material to go at for a long time

FT: Impressive stuff...Now, if you could be an animal what would it be?

MG: .I'm a redhead, so I'm basically a magnificent Unicorn anyway

FT: No one says badger anymore? sigh Moving on... What excites you as a reader and as a writer?

MG: New stuff. New stories, new ideas, new ways of twisting plots.

But I love the classics too

FT: Do you have a singular favourite novel?

MG: The Narnia Chronicles are my ultimate favourite. I read them year on year and never grow tired. It's like catching up with an old friend

FT: Has Steemit changed the way you write?

MG: Yes. I write more, I write better (I think) and I write with so much more enthusiasm. It really has brightened my writing career.

The different topics I can write about now is vast. I not only write horror, I write about so many wonderous things - take the one about the little girl and her great-grandma, that was prompted by a post on steemit.Through the innocent eyes of a child

FT: How much writing do you do that doesn't go on steemit?

MG: Not much. Although I'm trying to continue a number of novels that have made it onto Steemit in parts and I don't share them because there's so much to do on the writing, I could change everything in the editing.

FT: What would you say is your finest Steemit post in any category not necessarily the most lucrative?

MG: The one I just mentioned. The universe thing... hang on, I forgot what it's called. Through the innocent eyes of a child

FT: And finally. What advice would you give to a new steemian wishing to write and potentially get noticed on Steemit

MG: Write, post, put cool pictures in there, CREDIT EVERY SOURCE, interact, make friends, follow people, and most importantly, DO NOT THINK ABOUT THE MONEY.

Oh yeah, and edit the bloody thing before you post.

Well well well, a look inside the head of the lovely Michelle! I hope this gives you a little more insight into one of the fiction trail curation team

Follow for featured authors each week where we can learn of writing, fiction and odd favourite animal choices.

published by @fiction-trail, written by @meesterboom

Sort:  

Michelle is awesome and an inspiration to us all. Top writer and incredible personality to boot!

Great interview! :)

Aww you're a gentleman <3 Thank you :)

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 19. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $7.50 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 19 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Wonderful interview!

Thank you!

Yer welcome! :O)

"edit the bloody thing before you post"
all writing is rewriting they say.
thank you for sharing!

Thank you for reading!

I'm a bit 'gobby' sometimes...

Thanks for reading

editor on: You have a double "an" right at the start left of the picture.
/editor off

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99