SoulStone

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)



#66: Quantum Entanglement.

..............................................................................................................................................

“Uh Oh.” Elvira said one day

“What do you mean Uh Oh.” Shelby said. He removed his hand from his automatic pistol. He had reached for it without thinking when she had said “Uh Oh”. He looked around uneasily. “I hate it when you say Uh OH.”

“Either I just noticed this or it’s new” Elvira said “Lookee here.”

Shelby’s attention was directed to a section in his mind-matrix. Deep, Deep in his cognitive- space.

“Where’d that come from?” he wondered. It looked technological ”what is it?”

“You may not like this.” Elvira said “Those shapes represent neuro-loops. Notice some are a different color than others? Those are active. The rest represent unused URL’s so to speak.“

“Oh” Shelby said, not really understanding the significance. “ Is it an asset or a liability”

Elvira told him. “ This is definitely an asset.”

“You are so optimistic. Any ideas?” he asked.

“Yup.” she replied.

“Ok...If I have an indicator depicting all neuro-loops that we grew it would imply some form of communication. What’s the medium of transfer?” he had a bad thought “Can it be detected? Traced? Hacked?”

“ No, no and no. Or at least I don’t think so. This is QE. Just like we use to control the Structural Smoke?”

“Can’t be hacked huh?” he felt relived.

“Nope” she said. “like I said...or detected.”

“OhhhhKaaaay” Shelby said. “You’re right. This might definitely be an asset. This means I might have a “hot line” so to speak, to everyone that we’ve given neuro-loops to. I wonder what the potential is. What can I do with it? I’ll have to think about this.”

BookStore Closed

One Shelby he realized that it had been a long time, perhaps a year, since he had been to a bookstore. E-books and internet were so convenient that he saw no need to fight the traffic to visit them. Later that week he made a point of going to the one nearby and discovered that it had gone out of business.

That was sad.



The Next Episode is
#67: The Dragon Lady
The Previous Episode was
#65: River City Dragon
the First episode was
#1 : Prologue

I'm

@everittdmickey
.
I write
SPECULATIVE FICTION
I have books on Amazon too.
Sometimes I also comment on the news

Sometimes it's hard to tell fiction from the news.

Sort:  

I read a report not to long ago, (I don't remember where) that some people are going back to buying printed books.

It's been many years since I derived any pleasure from reading something on paper. I was trying to read a catfood advertisement on a paper brochure that we got with our shipment of kitty liter the other day and it gave me a headache. The print was too damn small (even with reading glasses) and they used PASTELS...who the hell uses non distinctive print on a colored back ground?

oh yeah...almost everyone..

gotta love the millennials..

your SoulStone post design awesome, this story book is nice, thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64143.39
ETH 2638.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80