Ride The Lightning

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)



Part 45: In The Hospital...Again


...................................................................................................................................................................................

The other waitresses of the restaurant had got here, they’d been riding the big cats and had bailed out just before they got to the fur-ball. It was hard to shoot accurately from the back of a running cat. They sure knew how to use those six guns. They were PISSED off about what the Jihadis had done to their sister. They made their displeasure known, lethally so.

Then there was thunder, and a horizontal hail of many, many bullets from many, many guns. The cavalry had arrived. The other thirty or forty well armed people were a little slower than the waitresses, but they aimed to please.

I passed out.

There was that cat grin again. I could see it…
The grin, Remained for some time.


I've often seen a cat without a grin,
but a grin without a cat!
It's the most curious thing I ever saw in my life!

This time it talked

“You’re welcome”

“We need to talk.”

it faded away and….

I woke up.

Why was I still alive?

I guess I was since I was in a hospital bed….again.

Tubes and wires and stuff attached were sticking out of me…Again.

I felt like something the cat drug in…Again.

Speaking of cats!!! Did the kitten survive?

I struggled to sit up. Everything was a blur and I hurt all over. My legs were gone, they had been removed. I had a hard time grabbing something to pull myself up. Loving tender hands helped me.

A lot of them.

“Lie easy big boy” the voice of an angel. “Let me fluff your pillow.”

She did that. My vision slowly cleared. A young goddess was in the room with me. Several to them actually.

“Nnnaagha..” I tried to talk.

“Take it easy Hon.” One of them said. “ Don’t stress the stitches. You were creased across the throat with something. It’s a wonder you are still alive. If it wasn’t for that thing around your neck you might not be. It deflected what ever hit you.”

This was getting to be really old. Twice in just months I’d been laid up by Jihadis.

“Gnaaahghs Hooahaaa!!!!…..” Like a bonehead…I kept trying to talk. Like a stoopid I wouldn’t let be. Soon enough, like they warned me, I felt a warm sticky wetness begin to drip down my neck. One of the beautiful damsels shook her head sadly.

“You tried…lord knows you tried.” She was very sad. ”It’s not your fault. They hurt her too bad. Corina died two days ago. We had her funeral this morning. Hers and her pony. A viking pyre. We sent her to Valhalla with her noble steed.”

Two days? How long had I been unconscious? I struggled to sit up.

“Whoa there cowboy. You’re not going anywhere yet.” One of the angels said, as she stuck a needle in my arm. “You ripped loose the stitches in your neck…and other places….again. Sleep.”

What ever it was she pumped into my arm was some GOOD stuff. The pain went away. Then that big black panther kitten climbed onto the bed and laid there beside me. He had on bandages too, a BUNCH of them.

“Oh no!” I faintly heard the angels giggling. ”How’d he get loose from the vet clinic next door? Who let him in here?”

“I don’t know. He looks determined. With those claws and teeth bared who’s going to argue right-of-way with him? I suspect doors were opened for him most politely. He’s here to stay unless you stick him with some happy juice too. Lookit those fangs and hear him hissing! He’s guarding his comrade…”another angel said in a tone that alternated between humor and respectful awe.

………….I was gone…out like a light.

………..again.

Naturally I had dreams..

…………..again.


To Be Continued
The Next Episode is
Part 46: Sick
The Previous episode was
Part 44: Up Close and Personal
the first episode was
Part 1 : Winter Storm

I'm

@everittdmickey
.
I write
SPECULATIVE FICTION
I have other books on Amazon.
Sometimes I also comment on the news

Sometimes it's hard to tell fiction from the news.

Sort:  

Here kitty kitty. It sucks being laid up in a hospital bed. Must be worse with no legs. felt like I had no legs when i was there. I don't think my nurses were as cute as his though. Guess kitty did not want to sleep alone, or felt a need to protect, she is after all a protector. Nice bit this one. After all the action of last part poor guy needs a rest, even if it is a hospital again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55981.35
ETH 2368.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35