Ride The Lightning

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)



Part 58: Seattle


....................................................................................................................................................................................


Things went well for the next few days. We dropped a short string in Seattle. I was hoping for something else going toward Norway when sure enough, my broker called.

“Have I got a deal for you!” He said. “This is your lucky day. I’ve been looking out for you. There’s a long string going to London. They pay premium but get this, there’s a singleton paying double premium that’s only goes to Minsk. You can drop it off and keep on trucking.”

“Excellent” I said. He was probably holding out on me regarding the rate. I was born at night but not last night. Brokers always do that.

It didn’t matter this time. I wasn’t in the mood to haggle. It wasn’t like I really needed the BitCoins after all. “I’ll take it.”

“Oh..I forgot to tell you” he said.

Here it comes. I thought, never fails.

“It won’t be ready until day after tomorrow.” he sounded apprehensive. He was half expecting me to blow up in his face.

“That’s ok.” I said. It’ll give me time to take in some sights.

“Great!” he sounded relived. “I’ll set it up then.”

I turned to Bubba and Maverick. ”How bout we go to the zoo?”

“Meowwwwr….! “ Bubba replied..he always liked to visit zoo’s. I think he liked to watch people watch animals.

“Hooot? Squiggle! “ Maverick said. I’d take that for a yes.



To Be Continued
The Next Episode will be
Part 59: We spent all the next day at the Woodland Zoo.…
The Previous episode was
Part 57: A Gentleman doesn't 'kiss and tell'…
the first episode was
Part 1 : Winter Storm

I'm

@everittdmickey
.
I write
SPECULATIVE FICTION
I have other books on Amazon.
Sometimes I also comment on the news

Sometimes it's hard to tell fiction from the news.

Sort:  

I remember zoo's, I even went to the Seattle Zoo once. And like Bubba, it was fun watching the people watch the animals, the faces and noises they would make, the best ones were the full grown men with no kids or girlfriends at the Zoo, pretending to be cool, and trying to attract the right kind of gal.

Nice series. I admit I started reading halfway through but I enjoy each new episode :)

Part 1 : Winter Storm
you can start at the beginning if you like.
each episode is forward to the next episode /back linked to the previous one.

Will do. Keep it up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55981.35
ETH 2368.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35