Campus Love Story ''Part-4''

in #fiction6 years ago


Image Source


He ran his free hand through his hair and glanced at the garden,- he gasped. He quickly stopped the car, his heart was racing. He saw Betty with Jay-Jay; they were sitting on a cane chair, Jay-Jay was leaning towards her, while she was smiling happily.


Emeka bounced out of his car and sauntered towards them. Betty turned unexpectedly,their eyes met. He expected her to freeze or jump up, but she remained calm; her smile was wider now. “hy Bestie..” she said with a grin “hy” He didn’t smile “Bestie please meet Jay-Jay…Jay-Jay meet Emeka” she said gently. “Hi, nice to meet you” Emeka was stretching forth his hand for a hand shake “Its my pleasure” Jay- Jay smiled, he didn’t take the hand shake “errm..I was driving by..then… errrm… I just wanted to say hi” Emeka said gently pocketing his hands “Wow…thats so sweet of you, you’re such a darling”


Betty laughed is she high or something? “Bye”


Emeka turned to
leave. “Ciao” Jay-Jay chuckled
Emeka gave him a cold look before walking
away. “and what was that?” Betty queried
“uhm?” Jay-Jay smiled “You refused to shake
him, and..”her voice trailed off “are you
angry?” he chuckled moving towards her “yes I
am” her voice was rising. “That’s not how to
be angry…” he kissed her lips”
this is how to be angry” he added moving
away. She gasped.
She turned gently and walked away. Betty was
mute. She kept toying with her glass of
juice.


“Hey! Are you okay?” Jay-Jay was sitting right there- facing her. She almost forgot she called him to meet her here. “Helloooo, Nnem, talk to me” he called out again. “Jay…I don’t like what you’re doing.” she started “Emeka has refused to pick my calls because of your attitude yesterday” she stopped to lower voice “you even kissed me…imagine, Jay that was too…” she stopped again. “So what are you trying tell me?”Jay-Jay said quitely “You taking advantage of me!” she snapped. His eyes narrowed; she wished she never said that. “You see Jay…” she stopped not knowing what to say. She searched his eyes. “Are saying I’m responsible for whatever is going on
now between you and Emeka?” His voice was low.


She made to speak but he stopped her. “I’ve
never had any silly intention towards you, I
regarded you as a sister and nothing else. I’m
sorry for the kiss, that was not a kiss but a peck!”
he stood up “You know what? I think you’re the one
taking advantage of me!” he walked away.
“Jay-Jay” she called but he didn’t look back. She sighed.
Placed her knotted fist below her chin.
She was in trouble. “Hi” she looked up,it was
Emeka. “I’m sorry for what happened
yesterday” she muttered “its okay, so was that your boyfriend?”.
He didn’t seem angry “He is a friend like a brother”
Betty replied. Emeka sighed, he waved at the waitress, gave
her orders.
” so what are you doing here all alone with
your table
filled with eatables? Emeka smiled.
She managed a low laugh, ThankGod Emeka is
no
longer angry, she need to see Jay-Jay…where
is she gonna find him? Emeka was staring at
her, she looked away and
sighed again
.


“Where the hell are you going?” Edith queried


Betty didn’t reply, she quickly combed her hair,held it into bun with her ribbon; she rushed to pick her shoes “I asked you a question” Edith squeaked Betty rolled her eyes, she wasn’t ready for Edith’s interrogation. “This girl! Have suddenly gone deaf or dumb?” Edith squeaked again. “You told me the other day to face my problems alone” Betty retorted.

“You’re not going anywhere,till you tell me where you’re going”Edith eyed her “see, I offended Jay-Jay, I need to go and apologise” Betty replied shortly “Ehn?” Edith yelled, Betty grimaced “You wan die abi?” “No..I’m going to Jay-Jay’s house” Betty said applying her lip balm. “have you been there before?” Edith squeaked. “no, i’ve got his address” Betty picked her phone and purse. “Don’t go o” Edith was screaming now. “If you don’t see me after two days, call my mum and tell her I’m dead” she was close to tears now. “Betty, please don’t go” Edith pleaded. Betty opened the door, turned to glance at Edith; then at the wall clock-it was past five already, she left hurriedly. “Sister number wetin?” the cab driver asked “number…errm…34? Betty replied glancing at the paper in her hand as if to be sure.

She was already in Odutola street, just a few blocks from Jay-Jay’s house. The street was scanty, if anything happened to her here, there’d be nobody to help. “We don reach” the cab driver announced. She got down, gave him some naira notes; muttered a thankyou and moved toward the gate. She knocked and knocked no answer; she got tired and decided to leave. “Hey! Na you knock this gate” someone roared behind her. Her stomach churned, she turned swiftly. The guy had a muderous look on his face. “yes…errm..I’m looking for…errrm..Jay-Jay lives here?” she stuttered “Jay-Jay?” the guy asked as if to be sure. “Yes, good afternoon” she could not help flexing her knees. “why you dey find am?” “I’m his friend… sister…I need to see him” she replied.


The guy scrutinized her with his eyes. “You no fit see am nw, him dey busy” he said with a note of finality. She felt weak, tears welled up in her eyes. She turned slowly to leave. ” Tiger you and who dey talk?” She gasped, she turned sharply, she saw Jay- Jay. “na one sister like that” the guy replied. Their eyes met- she and Jay-Jay, he looked away; she melted- she must have hurt him much. He mumbled something and walked in.
“him say make you enter” Tiger told her opening the gate wide for her.


He led her to the mainly building
but stopped by the door leading inside. She
opened
the door gently and went inside. She closed
the behind her, and looked at him, he was
standing, his hands behind him, his face was
neutral. “What do you want?” “Good evening
Jay-Jay..” she started “What do you want?”
His voice was firm. She sighed, what was she
going to tell him.
“I’m sorry Jay-Jay…” “so?” he cut her sharply.
“I’m truly sorry, I didn’t mean to hurt you” she
pleaded. She moved towards him but he
backed away. “what makes you think I’m hurt?” He
asked “I’m sorry, please” her voice was shaky.
“So?” he asked again “please forgive me” the
tears rolled down her cheeks,
she went on her knees. He looked away, he
hate to see her cry.
“Stand up” He whispered. “Not until I’m
forgiven” she said amidst tears. “It’s alright”
he said pulling her up, he had forgiven
her since, if he hadn’t forgiven her he wouldn’t
let her
in. “Ebezina- don’t cry” He said wiping her
tears. She searched his eyes. “Thank you”
“anything for you sister” he said patting her
head. “Sit down” he gestured to a sofa
“what do i offer you?” he asked smiling. She
felt homely now. “We have water and…you
don’t take alcohol?” he
said amidst smiles “I don’t” ” well, little sis,
water is the only thing for now” He
moved towards his fridge.


He offered her a glass which she drank, he stared at her for some seconds. “you suprise me!” he stated, she looked at him questioningly “you know, you came straight to my house without any fear that i might kill or hurt you, I gave you water- you drank without fear that I might drug you… you seem to trust me so much” He said shaking his head “every sister trusts her brother, and no brother would drug his sister” she said smiling. “yea, you gat me at that”he chuckled. “your favourite channel?” he picked up the TV remote. “Fashion TV” she replied relaxing into the sofa “I knew it” he chuckled.

''TO BE CONTINUED''


If you enjoyed this story and found it amusing, Kindly spare in
some minutes to upvote,
and comment because it will be so much appreciated and received,
"Remember Upvoting never kills".
And don't forget to follow me on my blog for more relevant stories
related to this content.


If you missed out on ''Part -1'' , ''Part -2'', ''Part -3'' of Campus Love kindly click the links below
to read through and enjoy the story from afresh:
Campus Love ''Part 1''
Campus Love ''part 2''
Campus Love ''Part 3''



Image Source


REFERENCE

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48