You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Beggars Can be Choosers

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

Thanks for making my day. This issue of begging have been my headache for some time now. Begging is fast becoming a profession in Nigeria and people are fast seeing how lucrative it can be. Men in suit and tie stand along road side begging and some send out their kids because they know the compassionate nature of humans when kids are involved.
In Edo state, baggers in their hundreds most especially from the northern part of the country are filling the commercial parts begging for arm. It has also come to our notice that some people have taking importation of beggars into the state as their means of livelihood and in return these beggar pay to them every day a fee or an agreed amount.

Sort:  

True, but I was trying to bring both sides, maybe unsuccessfully. Beggars are people too. The people they're using are also people. I guess we all have a lot to learn

Yes I understood your stand point completely. My 😬 is for some parents and their shortsightedness. In my street in Benin there is a woman with 10 children and they are poor. all were given birth to by her. When my mom called and tried to advise her she said " God did not bless us with money but he gave us the ability to make children ". What is she talking about?. 10 children she can't take care of, can't afford to feed.

Illiteracy is also part of the problem.

Yes it is a disease and to some a bliss.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60180.31
ETH 3001.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64