You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Challenge #02525-F335: Useful Obsession

in #fiction5 years ago (edited)

I have over 600 varieties of seeds to date, been collecting since I was 20. If I had the money, and we were in space, LOL I'd probably BE that person described. Seeds are so fascinating, kept properly, seeds can last hundreds, even thousands, of years and survive to be planted again. I've planted corn seeds that were over 40 years old and they sprouted and grew just fine. My grandfather had seeds and I got them, they were pumpkin seeds from when HE was in his 20's, and they still grew when I planted them. Though squirrels and rabbits started to destroy the garden and a really nasty hailstorm finished it off. :-(

I have heirloom and hybrid seeds by the score. And every year, I get more. If there was ever a major emergency with food shortages and the risk of no more food deliveries for possibly over a year or more? I'll be quite safe growing my own. Heh, my nickname amongst my friends? "Botany Geek"

Sort:  

Heirloom hoarders like you are going to save the world one day, I swear.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62763.51
ETH 2579.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72