My100: Original One-Page Story Hooks 77 and 78

in #fiction7 years ago

The challenge: 100 first-page story hooks in sixty days. Just the first page (or less), and it has to hook the reader to want more. Today I'm 3/4 of the way done. It's been an interesting ride.

The reward (for me): I have two writing notebooks crammed full of story ideas. It occurs to me that here's a chance, with these hooks, to try writing what's in them, just the first page, try it out, see if it has legs. Both of these are from that book. I haven't written a sports story...ever. The second one was just a first line. Now it's more.

Seventy-seven:

The linebacker shot the gap and smashed into Tyler just as Craig handed him the ball. It slid, alive, threatening to twist away and fall, but Tyler gripped it like a falcon and hung on until he hit the ground. He was screaming, “Time out!” at the referee before he even touched the grass, but the whistle was slow and two more precious seconds came off the clock. Home cooking. But not their home.

Tyler winced as Craig hauled him upright. Thirty-one seconds, and eighty-one yards to go. Tyler staggered a little, put out his hand and steadied himself on Craig’s shoulder pad. Craig turned a bloodstained face his way, and grimaced. “I think we’re going to run out of time,” he said.


Photo Credit

Seventy-eight:

It was still snowing when the power went out.

Not our house alone. From the front window I could see two, sometimes three neighbors, lights winking through the thin trees, but theirs were gone, too.

Carol put her hand on my arm and we stood looking out at the piling white for a moment before she said, “Are we at the point where it stops being pretty and starts being dangerous?”

“That depends. Did we replace the batteries in the flashlights?”

“Keith and Wendy are getting them. We checked last week.” Her voice carried no worry.

That would change.


Photo Credit


If you're looking for writing help--and who isn't--there are a lot of good editors on the Discord channel. I recommend it.

~Cristof

P.S. This series is the brainchild of The New Creatives, which challenged us to create 100 of something as a way of attaining mastery of a particular art form (or beginning the process, more like). This is my attempt. #TNCmy100

Sort:  

Hi friend,
Welcome to @Steemitwallet Blog inspiration to create in our community

steemit cion wallet.jpg

Best CryptoCurrencie market Buy and Sell Steemit Wallet Cion to day.

For more information about Steemitwallet,.>>....click here
Thanks

You are mean LOL - so you will just have to choose a few and finish it because the beginnings are great

Thank you! I feel sort of mean about it, but this is the practice I need. Then I'll move on to something else--no idea what that will be.

Whatever it is I am sure it will be great

Congratulations @cristof! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Wish I had read this an hour ago when I was brainstorming a new horror story. That second one has several ideas floating through my head now :P

Generally a pretty neat idea. If I felt ready to take on a novel format I would probably consider doing the same.

I don't know if there's enough there to give me a novel. Maybe. I'd have to look and see what other ideas are hanging out inside the beginning.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62827.81
ETH 2583.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73