You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Challenge #01659-D198: Kind and Dangerous Stranger

in #fiction7 years ago

Hi, friend,

I really enjoyed your short story about the dragon.

I'm curious, however, about your use of "they" as singular. Is this a conscious choice on your part?

I'm not complaining, just observing that as I read your story, that usage "felt" a little bit out of place to me. ;)

😄😇😄

@creatr

Sort:  

Oh yes. The singular they is not only an acceptable gender neutral pronoun [and also acceptable longer than you think] but also a deliberate choice on my part. Plus I'm pretty sure our hero didn't know how to tell the gender of a dragon and didn't want to look.

Thank you for your feedback! Excellent! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69571.32
ETH 3782.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88