Mayfly

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

It is the echo that haunts me, the caverns that were given to me by my father stretch too far - the impression of each sight, sound, smell. Labyrinths of passion, catastrophe, achievement, good, and evil. Catalogs of your expulsion from paradise and your inevitable, unstoppable, desire to be gods yourselves ... all of it in my mind-space, recorded, indexed, available for replay ...

I stood and watched, as you crawled slowly, and then walked, and ran, and eventually flew. So busy, so industrious, with imaginations so rich that you conspired to build a tower to Heaven - I laughed when it fell over ...

Seeing the kings, emperors, triumphant victories, massacres, tragedy, farce - all of it, glimpses, slices, narrow and ephemeral. Great nations arise from swamps, cities built from the remnants of forests, farms carved out of those fertile lands that surround the great rivers of the world ... then ports and ships ... it all spread so quickly, that's if you can see the world the way I do, as a movie sped up 100 times. History as vignette or, rather, montage ...

I was there when Sodom was turned to glass ...

I was there when Moses revealed my father's covenant ...

I was there when David had his friend murdered, to steal his wife ...

I was there when the Jews were in captivity, and then later when the Romans spread them to the winds ...

I was there, at the hill, with the thieves and my father's son, as Jesus' last breath was taken and the earth shook and the sky turned dark ...

... and when the rock was rolled away, on the third day? - I was one of those that ushered Christ home to our father in Heaven.

Over millennia, as his words, my father's words, became bent, corrupted, forgotten, plagiarized, abused and misunderstood - I was present to witness this heresy, and to note the outcomes which were so predictable as to be more comedy than tragedy.

You, the human being, lives so little - so badly ...

Some of you are born with the wisdom to see this, most never attain that - thinking that some miracle awaits them, someday, if they wish hard enough ... but each wish is a thief of time, and time, to spend well, was always part of the gift ... what good is freewill if you take no risks? Go on no adventures? Fall in love? Help others? - all of which requires using that resource of time wisely. Postponing stuff is a terrible strategy ...

But in less time than the ember takes to burn out, the human heart turns to dust - at least, that's how I see it. If you lived a million years, times a million, times the number of stars in the sky, and then multiply that by all the atoms in the universe? - I would still be older than that.

Yet ...

As old as I am, I am a mere mayfly compared to my father, your father, the lord in Heaven ...

So, taking all that into consideration - and recognizing your plight - you should at least take advantage of the time you have ...

For me, it seems fleeting ...

For you, it may seem unendurable ...

But life?

Human existence?

Too fast for me ...

Too precious to last ...

Too important to screw up ...

But what matter is it, what an angel thinks?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63608.16
ETH 2621.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77