I COULDN'T TAKE IT ANYMORE!

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

John gave me a different experience from what i use to hear about relationships and i found myself asking these question.

is it a crime to love and be in a relationship with someone?

I always hear my roommates share sweet memories after they had come back from their boyfriend's house during weekends.

Janine would always talk about how her boyfriend takes her out to the mall to pick all the things she needed to go back to school with, buy her clothes and shower her with all the gifts in the world.

Julie would always talk about how her boyfriend would take her out for breakfast in food-affairs, lunch in pepperoni,and dinner at hoffers.

Grace would always talk about how her boyfriend pampers her, treats her like a goddess and never would allow a fly to perch on her.


Image source

All this things were reflecting on my mind as i thought about my relationship with John.

I had been in a relationship with John for two years and there was nothing to show for it, I didn't know why i endured all the hard times despite everything.

Coping with that relationship as a student was a challenge to me.

My mates have good stories to tell after every weekend when we all are back from our boyfriend's house.

Most times i would just have to lie and say something nice just to cover up in order not to be mocked or laughed at.

Why was my own different, i kept asking myself.

James is a business man who deals on female clothings in the town market.

I met him in my year one at the university on one of the occasions i went to the market to buy a pair of female jeans, it happened that the shop I went to was his.

That day he kept on starring at me, he wasn't even interested in what i came to buy.

He sat me down, and said he had something to discuss with me, he didn't mind what and what I wanted, i should just give him time and afterwards I could pick anything i wanted without paying.

I love clothes and so i decided to listen to all he had to say as long as I would get extra wears for myself.

He told his sales boy to get me meatpie and malt drink to help me relax while we talked.

I listened to him as he was talking about how he fell in love with me at first sight and how he would want me to be his girlfriend.

I told him i wasn't interested and i was too young to be in a relationship as i was just 18 years old.

He asked whether he could collect my number and i agreed and gave him.

He was happy and asked me to collect as many clothes as i wanted,but i couldn't collect the clothes anymore as I didn't want to feel indebted to him, so I insisted on paying for the jeans i selected and left.

That night he called me on phone, he sounded so sweet as he was calling me several pet-names.

Just then i could feel my heart not been in agreement with my head.

John started sending me recharge cards daily and he would always call to know how i was fairing.

I have never had any caring male friend like him before, that was how i started developing feelings for him till the day he invited me over to house.

Reluctantly I decided to go as this guy has been caring to me.
He prepared fried rice and chicken for us to eat with a wine, after we where done eating we started talking about ourselves.

It happened that we both had the same song as our favourite, i asked him to play it and that song was what brought us together.

"Unbreakable Love by Westlife". John almost kissed me, i couldn't just let him do that to me despite the atmosphere as i had promised myself not to engage in any sexual affair till i was up to 25.

I had to push him away and left for my house.

Later in the evening he called to apologise for not taking permission to do that and promised not to try it.

I forgave him and we maintained our friendship till the day he came to visit me and begged me to allow him take the relationship to the next level and promised to take care of him.

I was already in love with John and he was sweet and caring so i accepted.

We started getting closer, i spent all my weekends with him at home and we lived like we were siblings. And he also kept to his words of taking care of me.

Just after the first year of our relationship, it was as if our love had lost it's taste.

My boyfriend isn't the guy I fell in love with anymore, he never gives me attention, he never sees reasons with me whenever am trying to explain reasons for my actions.

It got so bad that John had to beat me on one of the occasions he came back so late at night and refused to eat the melon soup i cooked for him, insisting that i should make him Ogbono soup by 12 midnight.

I pleaded with him to take something else like tea and bread or noodles, he got angry and started beating me.

There is nothing I don't do for John, i cook, wash, clean and take care of everything about him.

Some Saturdays I go to the shop to also help out.

What must i have done wrong to deserve this treatment from John?

I wash and he complains i didn't wash it well, i mob the house and he complains that the house is not neat.

Even when i was sick, John never cared, he acted like it was normal and so i should pull through it without involving him.

All this i endured just because i was so much in love with John and didn't know what life would look like without him in my life.

I kept taking all these till the last weekend I spent in his house, i left on Sunday after service.

On getting to school, i realised i had forgotten my assignment, i decided to leave it and go and pick it the next day before i go for my lectures.

On Monday morning as early as 6:30am i went to his house without informing him.

As I knocked on the door, a lady came to open the door with a very seductive night wear all revealing her body.

I was speechless, for some seconds I felt i was in the wrong house, I had to look around again to be sure.

Just then I heard John's voice saying "baby who is that at the door"?

And the girl replied "honey is that your cousin you told me of when when i asked about the pictures on your phone".

I was heartbroken but then i had learnt never to kill myself because of a man, i pretended to be his cousin sister and put up a smile on my face.

The girl asked me to come in and i went straight to the dinning table where I placed my assignments and took them.

I told the girl I was leaving and he called John informing him that i was going, he shouted from the room that he was in the toilet.

I wasn't expecting him to come out because i knew he couldn't face me, he said i should go that he would come around school within the week.

I kissed the girl goodbye and asked her to take very good care of my brother for me and i left.

Later in the afternoon I got John's message that it wasn't what I was thinking that the girl has just been disturbing him and finding ways for them to be together than nothing was going on between them that i shouldn't go away because of that.

I replied and told him that he would have told me he had someone else better than me all this while rather than punishing me, i have nothing against him and i wish him all the best in his new relationship.

That was how our relationship ended.

Sort:  

You know what I like about your stories?
You have this inbuilt attribute of carrying the reader along, you know when you said this

All this things were reflecting on my mind as i thought about my relationship with John.

I had to laugh out already

But I can tell you this fiction story is a lot of girls true life stories.
What a bad boyfriend John was, yuck all of a sudden she became a cousin now.
He just lost a rare gem.
Nice one sis

Hahahahahahaha

Dear when you said
"I listened to him as he was talking about how he fell in love with me at first sight and how he would want me to be his girlfriend".
This above got my attention.
I think John didn't feel in love with you, rather he fell in lust with you.

Most times lust is always wears a makeup in form of love.

And am happy she left the relationship, because I would have been mad at her if she had continued.

Lovely story. This might be a fiction but lot of girls are going through this right now or even worst I hope they all summon the courage like the lady in the story and move on
Abusive relationship is one of the worst thing that can happen to one

I so much love your writing skill you just kept me entangled to read more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61651.16
ETH 2369.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50