Uncharted Expectations: Part 2 (Original Story-Romance/Fantasy)

in #fiction8 years ago (edited)

In part one, Tanya and Alyssa made their way to the forest to find two mysterious figures playing music. Read on to find out what happens next!


The beautiful beings looked Tanya and Alyssa directly in the eyes as they walked forward. “Are ya guys or gals?” Alyssa asked with wide eyes. “I mean ya so pretty, can’t tell, right Tanya?” Alyssa looked toward Tanya whose mouth was hanging open. “What do you think?” Smiled the pearl haired figure. “We are males.” The sapphire haired figure said as he stared at his counterpart. “Now that you know that, please come forward.”

9b047803aeb1da949de3421895b9f2c3.jpg

Alyssa was so happy as she grinned from ear to ear. Tanya walked slowly as each foot dragged from the firm earth with every step. They both walked until they were eye-to-eye and almost nose to nose with the enchanting figures. Alyssa was in front of the pearl haired figure. Tanya stood in front of the sapphire haired figure. The sapphire haired figure held his hand up and took a few steps back. “That’s close enough,” he sighed. The pearl haired figure scrunched up his face. “Exchange places with your companion, please.” He smiled at Alyssa. She pouted and looked down to the cold ground and stomped over to Tanya. “He wants you…” Alyssa said in a low tone as she poked Tanya’s shoulder with her forehead. Tanya looked toward the pearl haired figure to see him smiling at her. This smile was so saccharine, she could almost taste it.

“You are so exotic! No one looks like you back home! I have never seen someone the color of honey!” He reached out to touch her cheek as Tanya flinched silently. “Do not worry. I will not harm you. I just wanted to touch you to see if you actually exist.” Tanya’s eyebrows tightened. “If I’m real? It’s more of the other way around for me.” The pearl haired figure smiled softly. “Well, there is only one way to discover the truth.” Before she could react, he clasped her hand and brought it to his lips. “If I could kiss at least one part of you, then you must be real.” Tanya just stared at him, motionless.

Alyssa tapped her foot on the ground as she watched the other two. She leaned forward towards the sapphire haired figure. He took several steps back. “I am not like…” he paused to narrow his eyes at his counterpart. “Him.” Alyssa cocked her head to one side and tapped the side of her face. The sapphire haired one slumped his shoulders and shook his head. “He is more…” “Charming?” The pearl haired figure interjected. “No.” The sapphire haired figure groaned. “Handsome?” The pearl haired figure quipped. “No!” The sapphire haired figure clenched his teeth. “He is more… expressive than I am, in everything,” the sapphire one said with a long sigh.

Tanya’s hand was still firmly clasped by the pearl haired figure. As she tried to let go, he leaned in. “Would you rather I grabbed you around the waist?” Tanya shook her head. “Oh. Why not? I am not… dangerous. I could make you very happy, you know.” “You are making her uncomfortable, can you deduce that on your own?” The sapphire haired figure shot at his companion. “Am I really?” The pearl haired figure asked with wide eyes. Tanya nodded quickly. “Humph. It always works with the girls at home.” He dropped her hand. “This has never happened to me before! No one turns me down!” “Calm yourself before you frighten them!” This is the first time the sapphire haired one actually raised his voice. It sternly flew out his mouth. The echoes bounced around the trees to arrive back at Tanya and Alyssa’s ears so violently it made them jump.

Something had been bothering Tanya this entire time. “I hate to be the one who breaks up this fight, but how do you both speak our language?” That question quieted them. “Feel free to explain, he who is less frightening yet yelled at the top of his lungs.” The pearl haired figure smirked. The sapphire haired figure rolled his eyes. “Please forgive me, both of you. I was getting so tired of his antics I…” He cleared his throat. “This is not answering your question, I apologize again. Basically, our kind and the humans of this area used to live in harmony. However, some things happened through history which changed that.” Tanya nodded. “I see. So, that explains why you speak an older sounding English.” “Oh, you do not speak like this anymore. I see. It has been so long since we last spoke your language. So, English has changed over time.” Tanya and Alyssa nodded. “Yeah, your English sounds like something out of a textbook or something mixed with current stuff,” Alyssa laughed. “They don’t know any better, Alyssa. Don’t laugh at them.” Tanya whispered. “I can’t help it, it’s too funny.” Alyssa giggled. Tanya shook her head.

“So, you have not asked us the most important question.” The pearl haired one said with a wide grin. “What’s that?” Alyssa and Tanya said in unison. “Our names! We have not exchanged names, yet. Is this not an important custom anymore?” Tanya giggled at that. Alyssa smirked at her. “That is the first time I heard you laugh!” The pearl haired one said as he circled Tanya. “I do not understand what you found funny exactly. However, I am glad that my actions made you laugh.” Tanya laughed again. “It’s just that you went from lusty, childish, and then formal in less than one hour.” The pearled haired one clasped her hand and bowed to one knee. He gave her hand the most gentle kiss with his soft rose petal lips. His long hair fell to the side of his face as he looked up at her and smiled. “My name is Hyakinthos. You may call me by my pet name Hyakin if our relationship progresses to that level.” He gave her a sly smile. “What shall I call you, my lady?” Tanya had gotten used to the feeling of his hands. They were so soft and gentle. It felt like he would bruise if she squeezed his hands too hard. ”You can call me Tanya. It’s my name after all.” For the first time, Tanya blushed. “Well, it is a pleasure to make your acquaintance, Lady Tanya.” Hyakinthos continued to stare and grin at her as he stood, never letting go of her hand.

“My turn!” Alyssa said as she jumped up and down. The sapphire haired one looked to Hyakinthos. A smug smile spread across Hyakinthos’ face. “I feel you should handle that one.” Hyakinthos winked. “I am not one for formalities, as you know.” The sapphire figure said sternly to Hyakinthos. “I believe you are more than able.” Hyakinthos smiled even wider. The sapphire haired one rolled his eyes. “Fine.” He stepped forward like a soldier marching to the battlefield. He stared into Alyssa’s eyes. She felt the heat in her cheeks as a soft sigh escaped her lips. His gaze was unwavering as he slowly put her hand in his. He dropped to one knee instantly. His steel gaze never left her eyes. He kissed her hand quickly. “I am called Laurus. You may call me Laurus. That is all. How should I call you…” The word was stuck in his throat for a moment. “My lady?” “My name’s Alyssa. I’m trying to think of a nice nickname for you!” Alyssa noticed Laurus’ eyes narrowing. “Please do not make the effort, Lady Alyssa. For no matter what you choose, I will not respond to it.” He stood and dropped her hand. Alyssa pouted in response.

“My lord, we should be returning now.” Laurus insisted. “Ah, is it that time already? Let us play around here some more! We just met these two ladies, please?” Hyakinthos pleaded with pitiful eyes. Laurus took a sharp breath. “We need to get back to the palace grounds by morning. Your father will be very angry with me if we are not there.” Laurus cautioned. “Dawn is several hours away,” Hyakinthos muttered as he tilted his head to the side. Then, he smiled like a jolt of lightning hit him. “A great idea has occurred to me!” Hyakinthos announced. Laurus began to shake his head. “Ladies, would you like to accompany us to my vast kingdom?” He darted his eyes to both of them. Other than his eye movement, his body seemed to be frozen in a half-bow.

“Woo! I was waiting for ya to say that!” Alyssa jumped up and down. “Alyssa!” Tanya said sternly. “We don’t want to intrude on their kindness. Let’s go back home.” Tanya grabbed Alyssa’s arm. “Thank you for your patience with us. We once again apologize for disturbing your music.” Tanya bowed. “Speak for yourself!” Alyssa yelled as she wrenched her arm out of Tanya’s grasp. “Tanya, this is the kind of thing ya read about in fairy tales! Ya see this kind of thing in movies! Let me have this one thing. Let us have this one thing together!” Alyssa’s eyes welled up as she squeezed Tanya’s hands. Tanya sighed as she remembered her friendship. “I hope we don’t regret this. Fine. Let’s go.” “You made a wise decision, Lady Tanya!” Hyakinthos beamed. Laurus could only sigh in defeat.

Leaves Ending

Thank you for reading! Read the next part here!

Written with StackEdit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60777.85
ETH 2609.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65