"The Museum of Mirrors and the (Mostly) Dead, Pt. 2" - A Surrealist Story in Serialized Form

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

x354-q80.jpg

I thought I'd try something out. Since I write so much fiction, I figured I'd try out a new piece on all you Steemers out there. It's dark (like nearly all of my stuff) and long (like a great deal of my stuff). It's one of six stories that will be included in my third collection coming out late next year. You can find my other (fully) posted non-fiction story "Colfax Place" on Steemit here:

https://steemit.com/nonfiction/@bucho/colfax-place-a-piece-of-non-fiction-about-the-midwest

I figure if the first couple of installments of this one pique some interest, I'll keep posting up new sections daily. Per usual, all critiques welcome as long as they're constructive. I'll also kept a running list of links at the bottom of each entry so you can play catch up a little easier.


Mirror #1

“Dr. Cavanaugh’s Professional Mirror”

Created in 1978 by MedFirst Inc.
Found in 1984

Materials Used:
Sea Green Plastic
Medical or Dental Use

Type of Reflection:
Highlight Bodily Deficiencies
Normal Planar Reflective Surface

What You See:

The green plastic surrounds the circular mirror, then thins out and comes together, expanding gently toward the floor like a fat, singular rivulet of paint frozen in the air, forming a handle. Both the mirror and its placeholder are tarnished from time and scratched from use. Brassy spots lay scattered across the reflective surface, evidence of rot creeping in and making a home. This is what you see as you stare into the virus-like reflection:

Jaundiced skin. Brittle teeth. Plaque gathering itself inside your arteries. A slowing down of blood flow. The melting loss of tendons and ligaments between joints. The clouding of cataracts in the eyes. The thinning of hair, the shrinking of skin. Liver spots appearing as tiny specks, but quickly growing into dime- and quarter-sized blotches across your dermal landscape.

You see all this in the blink of an eye. The visuals are too much too quickly, so you turn away and find yourself panting in the dark of the room. Panic lights up every nerve along your spine; every inch of your body tenses up. For several terrifying seconds, you forget how to breathe. The darkness of the room begins to feel claustrophobic as if it were a heavy blanket closing in around you.

The light behind you dims while another blooms into brightness above the second mirror to your left on the next wall. You remember how to breathe and control it until you’re calm again, nerves no longer standing at attention.

A cursory glance behind you reveals that both the first mirror and its placard on the wall have disappeared. No glimmer shines back from the depth of the dark in the corner. You made your way over to the second mirror and read the information posted beside it…


Part 3 - https://steemit.com/fiction/@bucho/the-museum-of-mirrors-and-the-mostly-dead-pt-3-a-surrealist-story-in-serialized-form


Previous Sections:
Part 1 - https://steemit.com/fiction/@bucho/the-museum-of-mirrors-and-the-mostly-dead-pt-1-a-surrealist-story-in-serialized-form

Sort:  

Very nice. I love how illustrative your words are. Very descriptive - I can see it all so clearly in my minds eye. I am definitely intrigued and I am really looking forward to the next one. What's the placard going to say!?!?!?! I must know!

there are 10 very unique mirrors, all with different effects/affects. this was a fun one to write, purely to see where it would take me :)

I love it so much, I like your writing style, excited to read more!

In just a few words, this certainly grasps my attention. This is something that I know I need to work on in my own writing. Thanks for sharing, well done!

thank ya! i've actively tried to tickle the reader's brain with all my sentences over the years. i never want them to ever find themselves bored! :)

Indeed, being descriptive is a great skill, but being descriptive and succinct is very powerful. Keep it up!

History is always interesting - so visit museums - thanks
https://steemit.com/life/@dobro88888888/thanks-to-new-technologies

there's a great quote in the movie "Monuments Men" from George Clooney's character trying to inspire his men as they save all the stolen art from the Germans:

"You can wipe out an entire generation, you can burn their homes to the ground and somehow they'll still find their way back. But if you destroy their history, you destroy their achievements and it's as if they never existed. That's what Hitler wants and that's exactly what we are fighting for."

Art and museums are absolutely essential as far as I'm concerned.

You are right thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58334.82
ETH 2595.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40