SHE LEFT ME, SHE MARRIED ANOTHER MAN

in #fiction6 years ago

pexelsphoto1025945.jpeg

A stare at her cherubic face was beyond a good wish. It soothed every strain of veins within my heart each time it bloomed at the warm gesture of the morning sun. Just like a morning glory! The girth of her hips, the shape of her lips and her milky complexion awakened my mind like nothing else.

I almost lost my mind as I keep recalling the kind of beauty and virtue she exuded while we were together. As I was held in the sway of our memories, the thought of our now-sour beautiful story, the Pastor’s voice made me regain schlock consciousness.

My eyes and heart still beheld her beauty even on this day. Her wedding day. And her steps moved every inch of my bones with both pleasure and pain. Her presence then became a threat to my throne. I was sweating profusely.

She thitherto told me she loves me. She would always be here for me. How come she didn’t tell me she wouldn’t wait for me? A promise in disguise, I think.

We had been dating for years. But Sarah didn’t tell me. Her intentions failed to rub off on me each time we hugged. I thought she said she loved me without ceasing, beyond seasons and would let me have her in my grip. Always. Could it be my eyes have failed? No, it’s unbelievable.

The last time I learnt she cheated on me with Emeka. The other time with Taiwo, now she’s getting married to Itoro. How come she wore such shin of deceit. She must have learnt her antics from time old. My thoughts continued to wander.

And there I was in the wedding watching her leave me , wholly – aargh!

Then I felt a tap on my left hand. It was the girl who sat by my side. It was time to go to the offering box, but I wouldn’t just know. I stood up from the white plastic chair, struggling to maintain a straight face and wiping off every trace of sweat from it. And tears, too. My legs went numb, and moving them cost me several joules. The train seemed to move very dull. People sang, danced and jubilated in glee but what I felt within couldn’t let me do any.

As I returned to my seat, undulating rhythms of thoughts hurled my mind and made me think of leaving the premises. I had gone outside severally in search of what could serve me as respite. But it didn’t heal, I was wounded to my marrow. So I chose to stay til the end.

My hope kept wandering, looking for a lifeline to take me out of this funk. Then I met Hope. The girl who sat by my right, just beside me. Nothing feels good like talking to her at the reception, and after. Even to date.

I can’t have Sarah again, it’s regretful. But I have Hope now, and I’ve resolved my mind to treasure her today and beyond.

Sarah was yesterday, Hope is today and the days to come. They both have lots in common and have virtually the same quintessential. They belong to the same clan and share the same demonym. Wondering what they are called?

They are both called TIME.

I’ve lost yesterday. I only have today to treasure.

We’ve all lost SARAH, we have HOPE to treasure.

#Fiction

©Menyene Ekong

PC: Pexels

Sort:  

Uncomplicated article. I learned a lot of interesting and cognitive. I'm screwed up with you, I'll be glad to reciprocal subscription))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61720.10
ETH 2429.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63