Setesh and the Ruby Temple

in #fiction7 years ago

STEEMIT cover Setesh and the Ruby Temple.png

Chapter One

foreign land.jpg

Everyone around me was always on edge, and most days I could feel everything. We were after all in the middle of a war, but with my family feeling so crabby it was just easier to drift away and stay out of trouble. Most days to ease my troubled heart, I thought, if you feel you are drowning you might as well try and breathe.

Only at night when everyone was asleep, would I slip out of the family estate and run across the lush green fields as wild and free as the wolf. Mesmerized by the dancing stars and moonlight I would simply drift away.

No one was ever the same since mother died. She was the Lady of the household and wisdom keeper of our tribe. Her name was Myra and her words of wisdom were always such a comfort to our family.

Basha, my father closed his heart to the world and to me. An icy brick wall was all that remained where my mother once lived. Back at home things escalated, our family in desperation sought help from Lord Ashur of Poseida.

“Amoraea, Lord Ashur has agreed to take in our family. However, he has made a request … your hand in marriage to his son, Setesh. I want you to marry him”, said Basha.

I felt as my throat stifled, and all the color drained from my face, how could I refuse, I thought. I was the only bargaining chip of any real value that could guarantee the protection and continued wealth of our family.

“I will accept the generous proposal”, I replied. He looked across the garden near the pond and plucked a rose and offered it to me. Offering his hand, we walked side by side in silence.

Chapter Two

barge.jpg

Cool breezes blew ever so gently across the desert sands. Over the horizon, soft clouds draped as feathers of pink and lavender. There was a delightful softness in the air. Dew drops shimmered as diamonds upon the crimson petals of the rose.

Great Mother, was really showing off on this glorious morning, I thought.

Closing my eyes, I savored the perfume of the roses, daisies, and irises of her beloved garden. All the servants and the crew had worked through the night preparing the barge to set sail to the Isle of Poseida. Poseida was no ordinary city, twelve crystal temples of power were built within a day by the sky gods.

Winds were favorable for the moment and prayed to the gods for a safe journey. I never could get used to riding a barge. Plagued by stomach sickness and headaches, there was nowhere to escape from this terrible dizziness and affliction.

Oh, great mother, how many gods did I offend to be plagued with seasickness … ugh! Probably all of them, I thought.

We sat amidst strangers in the middle of the ocean. Rough seas at night buffeted the barge from side to side, by spirits unseen. On the last day of our journey to reach the golden rings, I simply couldn’t sleep.

Lena snapped, as I kept stealing the covers, “will you stop tossing and turning about?!”.

“I can’t help it. I keep thinking about tomorrow. With the past now behind us, the future taunts me, she is a cruel mistress you know. So much of the future is unknown. I am nervous. His entire court will be observing my every move! You know how I am under pressure, what if I do something wrong”, I screeched and turned to Lena, my beloved sister.

“Well we can’t have that, can we? A lot is riding on you making this marriage with the prince, official”, Lena snickered got up and walked to the window.

Glaring at her with fiery eyes, how I wished the seas would open and swallow her whole in that moment. I loved Lena, but she had a weird way of trying to soothe me whenever I was nervous.

“Amoraea, you will be fine, all will go well. I think the salty sea air is driving you mad”, Lena turns towards me and helped me to lay down.

Tears streamed down my face, Lena kisses my forehead and says, “sister, I only make jokes to lighten your mood. I know how hard this is for you. But maybe the Setesh will prove to be different. Think about it, you are marrying a god. How terrible can it be?”.

Deep down I was a hopeless romantic, and I thought, well into the belly of the beast I go for better or worse. Perhaps Lena is right, he may turn out to be wonderful. Our parents had an arranged marriage, and they really loved each other.

Chapter Three

fantasy.jpg

Our family had finally arrived, at the stone circle. Twelve monoliths stood tall and each one had a symbol that lit up in flames. In the center were golden rings and standing guard is Anubis. A tall beautiful high priestess with long black hair wearing a white dress and lavender robes greets our family at the stone circle. On her forehead is three crystals in the shape of a pyramid.

“You have arrived safely, good. We have been expecting you. My name is Brigid, I am the High Priestess and guardian of this stone circle with Anubis. I will need you all to take a deep breath and hold hands”, said Brigid.

She raised her hands to the sky and whispering an incantation, and as she did the golden rings start to spin, and a doorway opens. Our family was shocked we could see the Isle of Poseida from the other side. Anubis raises his staff and slams it on the floor and within minutes we were on the Isle of Poseida.

Welcoming us to the Isle of Poseida was Thoth. He was tall, dark and so handsome. On the archway hoisted above two golden pillars, was a golden solar disc with wings and carnelian and lapis lazuli encrusted cobras on each side. Below our feet, the floors shined of crystal quartz.

futuristic-city-wallpaper-45.jpg

A wall farther than the eye could see was made of gold, and a network of bridges, canals united the different sections of the kingdom. Poseida we came to discover was ruled by twelve priestly kings and queens. Lord Ashur was one of the twelve priestly kings of Poseida.

Overwhelmed by the grandeur of Poseida, I desired to rest. But the crowned Prince Setesh was known to be impulsive and I didn’t want to disappoint his father, who so graciously allowed my family to live among them.

Lord Ashur leads me into the Ruby Temple of Setesh. Setesh was High Priest and taught the art of the sacred warrior.

Dug in his deep velvety red throne chair of gold was a brooding Setesh. His skin was black as space, in his left hand was a staff made of gold with a pointed ruby stone. I had never felt so inadequate and yet deeply desired as I did, in that moment when his gaze met my own.

His father smiled, “I will leave, so you can get better acquainted”.

Setesh stands and to my surprise, he bows with deep respect, as he kisses my hand. My heart soared with anticipation, as our eyes swam deep, leading our hearts to merge in ecstasy. I think I fell in love. Was this love, I thought.

I felt the warmth emanating from his very soul, lighting the fires within my own. His lips touched my cheeks, our love released subtle and sublime scents of lotus and cinnamon.

His gentle fingers caress my skin, sending chills up and down my spine. My lips quiver with anticipation as he moves closer. He gently smiles biting gently the bottom left of his lip. Drawing closer, my heart gets warmer and beats faster.

What is happening? Why do I feel this way? I thought.

He then telepathically speaks to me, “Amoraea, let go … you are safe”.

Stunned I thought, I can hear you in my mind, is it you speaking to me?

Holding me in his arms, he whispers in my ear, “yes, you heard my voice beloved”.

Everyone was so busy that no one noticed when our lips touched gently, his tongue slips into my mouth. I could taste honey on his lips.

We sobbed as if we were lovers that had been apart for ages, enraptured I yearned for more.

Original short story by @blanca237

Sort:  

Your writing is very good. It is easy to read and interesting as it flows and unfolds. Now I want to know more and can`t wait to read more of your texts. I like your descriptions and the whole theme that involves gods and humans interact.

Thank you! I am still a novice at writing short stories and such, this means a great deal to me that you enjoyed it :D most of my ideas, I take from lucid dreams. I have a one note on MSN that I use to keep track of all my dreams on a daily and year to year basis. I also use tarot cards to fill in the gaps and build the story arcs and characters. I am having a great deal of fun. This is really good practice for me, especially being able to get feedback from other passionate writers.

You really do express some wonderful feelings through imagery in this story @blanca237, I particularly like this sentence:

Dew drops shimmered as diamonds upon the crimson petals of the rose.

Also, the egyptian mythology that's woven through the story, paints a vivid picture of a fantastical world. :-)

Thank you for being so incredibly supportive. Being able to stand in the Egyptian temple ruins, is the stuff of dreams. I hope to visit soon.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by leap8 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You really did a great job of world-building without getting mired in exposition. I want to know what else happens...

@olyup I'm glad you enjoyed it. Thank you for the support! I had fun creating this one. I will be working on part two next week (=^_^=)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63004.58
ETH 2548.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81