The Widower: A Fifty Word Story

in #fiction6 years ago


Double-checking the directions, he measured carefully.

Should he cover the pot? Damn, he missed her.

He watched the water boil away, finally turning the burner off.

Scooping steaming rice onto his plate, he ignored the stuck bits. His wife would've been proud. He half-smiled towards her empty chair.


Sorry, you will have to do without discussion of the story this week. I'm not capable. I've got quite a migraine and I'm lucky I've managed to write anything. Actually I wrote this one in the middle of the night last night then got @thinknzombie to help me edit it after he pushed me enough that I finished the first draft of a large story that's been hanging over my head.





Posted from my blog with
SteemPress : http://www.rjeanbell.com/2018/09/08/the-widower-a-fifty-word-story/

Sort:  

This guy can cook better than someone I know. Kudos to writing this even though it was difficult. When it's difficult, trying is more than enough. Still a nice story though :)

Lovely work, @bex-dk. I'm impressed that you managed to get it finished and posted amidst a migraine. This story does such a nice job of capturing loss, and the things we do to compensate for the space left by that person, remember them, and continue to incorporate them into our thoughts and activities, long after they are gone.

A painful portrayal of one of our greatest fears. People can end up missing even crappy partnerss, i can't imagine the devastation caused by the loss of a great one.
Beautiful story.

That is tear-jerking and amazing.

Very poignant...

😄😇😄

@creatr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
SBD 2.31