Accidental Apocalypse: A Fifty Word Story

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)


Jimmy fumbled with the heavy book above the open coffin. He recited the foreign words.

"Jenny, arise."

The battered figure moved upon the pink silk then slowly crawled from the grave. "Feed. Must feed."

Jimmy had missed that part of the directions, but Jenny made do with the meager fare.


Some people had speculated over what exactly happens to Jenny in last week's microfiction. I don't think everyone will appreciate this answer. But remember--the prompt here was IF, so this is just one possibility.  The what if Jenny died and Jimmy felt guilty about having made fun of her one.

Many stories are inspired by ifs. If X happened to so-and-so... It's one of the most epic prompts of all time.

I'm not going to write more this week. I've been working hard on a larger story with a tight deadline and my arm is swelling from too much typing and I'm just burned out. I hope you enjoy the story enough on its own.





Posted from my blog with
SteemPress : http://www.rjeanbell.com/2018/09/29/accidental-apocalype-a-fifty-word-story/

Sort:  

Oh!! This made me shiver. It's so wonderfully creepy. I could definitely see this story expanding!

Oddly enough I don't feel an urge to expand this one.

Aren't all disasters somehow accidental (or so we wish)?
I thought the story was going to be about HF20 :)
It can still be linked to it, i think

Sorry for the confusion with HF20. I just meant everyone was struggling to get things posted and voting was weird....

Most apocalypses are not fully intentional but I don't know if one can say they are accidental. I have a double meaning in this title in that the incident that made Jimmy choose to raise a zombie was an accident.

I love it! It has an Evil Dead kinda vibe to it. (I hope I don't comment I love it! on everything, I'm just crazy tired rn)

Thanks! I blame @negativer and @thinknzombie for making me think in these directions. :-)

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63645.37
ETH 3067.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81