You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SHORT FICTION - When the Levee Breaks

in #fiction6 years ago

This one is really good! The spiritual symbolism draws you in. God purging old ways perhaps. I see the plight of the black man. The story perhaps a metaphor for their flight from the south in the 1950s.

Sort:  

Thank you, glad the symbolism appealed. Although the story originates from the floods of the 30's, as I was writing it it did take on more of a metaphor for the black struggle in general. That is how it felt, so I went with it. It's there, subtly I guess.

I’m from Chicago so the story of black migration is close. I grew up with the Chicago blues and Howln Wolf.

I had a big blues faze in my some time ago, and predominantly Chicago blues. Still have a soft spot for it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64385.89
ETH 3510.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54