Blue Buttons

in #fiction7 years ago

111.png

A white shirt. A dent goes from your shoulder down the back of your arm. You’re trying to tie a tie.
‘Hooray! Now you’re an adult’, I say happily, clapping my hands.
You slightly turn around to the sound of my voice. The lamp’s light reveals all the unevenness of the fabric. I put my hand on your left shoulder and see your smile in the mirror.
‘Do you think Samantha would like these buttons?’, you ask.
‘And does she like the colour blue?’


Most of your shirts were already hanging in your closet. But you chose the one that was still in the basket of uncovered clothes. The one with the blue buttons.

Perhaps, back then Samantha didn’t have a favourite colour. And maybe it was not about the colour at all. But after almost twenty years, the cornflowers near Samantha’s and your house still remind me of that shirt.

Photo by /__lilalaura

Sort:  

lol, if I read a longer story and it is well written, I say, what a good writer. Seeing something so short made me pause, but then I realsied what I am doing and immediately upvoted (such is not worth much yet, but it is for showing you that your work and talent is appreciated).

I hope you do not mind if I try to make a constructive comment?

Writing stories like this one is an art form different to writing longer stories. Precision of language becomes even more important. I notice you are from Russia, which means English is not your mother tongue. I suggest two things:

A) Keep studying (even if it is by reading English novels, while paying attention to how the author writes - uses the language).

B) Do not post your story when you write it. Keep it for the next day - and after not seeing it for a day or night, re-read.

I'll be around and I am following as I want to see how you grow and what you achieve.

I know you aren't "new" anymore, but saw you on @sunravelme's post and wanted to give you a hello, upvote and introduction! Sorry if all this is old news to you....

Greetings and Welcome!

I have a few tips for you:

  • find a community. Maybe join the @minnowsupport project. They are on Discord. The initial signup is a bit of a hassel. But from what I hear, it's worth it. Their link can be found on one of their posts @minnowsupport

  • don't plan to get rich. If you come for money, it will be a struggle.

  • it will still be a struggle when you are new.... for 2 or 3 months. You need to go meet people when you find their post that you like, and comment what it meant to you.

  • only Post original work. Many new Steemians get into trouble when they copy and paste things from Google or from the internet, AND IT IS NOT their photo, writing or work. IF you can't post your own things, better not post.

  • comment and make friends, but don't ask "Follow me" or "please Upvote me" Maybe after you have become friends... maybe. But never as your first, second or third comment to them. Never!

  • be careful how you use tags. Try to be sure the tag you want to use is relevant to your post. ANd you don't have to use all 5 tags.

  • and of course have fun!

I am a community volunteer. I try to stop SPAM and trash and things that hurt Steemit. IF you see anything like that, please feel free to let me know, I will look into it!

Nice post ☺ followed and upvote you...hope so you will do same for me 😊Wd

@avivakohen if you see someone with LESS THAN 25 Reputation. It is usually best to NOT upvote them. They are USUALLY practicing some bad habits .... asking for upvotes, for Follows, etc. They don't realize it is hurting their reputation and themselves!

oh wow I didn't know that! thanks for this advice

Short but powerful. Great job. :D

Short- but sweet. I love it! Found you on @sunravelme post where I was lucky enough to be featured too. I really enjoyed this flash fiction @avivakohen There is a real skill finding meaning in such a short amount of words and you have done that excellently here ✍ 👍

This post received a 10% vote by @minnowsupport courtesy of @sunravelme from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

This post has been resteemed by @minnowsupport courtesy of @sunravelme from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Cool story, keep posting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 68964.81
ETH 3733.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65