You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ash Wednesday

in #fiction5 years ago

Wow - very mixed feelings about this. I grew up an arch-catholic with daily mass and went to a strict Convent school . Cardinal George Pell confirmed me in Melbourne, Australia, when he was just a Bishop. Living in Thailand for many, many years and not having been in a Catholic church in the decade since my father's funeral, this suddenly brought it all crashing in. Actually, your first image did.

Your writing is strong and evocative and I'm sure will touch a nerve with many.

Sort:  

Thank you.

I grew up Catholic and went to a Catholic school too. Haven't been to church for quite a while now. Maybe this is me trying to reconnect?

I also had a mixed feeling while writing it, and I hope it will be received well by many.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm sure it will... you have a gift for touching the feeling. The reconnection just might be with your young, curious self trying to frame and express something that the younger-you has never quite assimilated? Keep writing!

Could be. Thanks and I surely will.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64118.79
ETH 3390.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51