The Beginning - Short Fiction Based on a Photo

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)


Image Credit: @winstonwolfe

"Isn't she beautiful?"

Creation leaned down over the small bundle sitting in the basket by her feet, taking the time to examine every inch of her form, marveling at her magnificence with a small smile. Slender fingers reached out to brush a wisp of hair away from her eyes as she lay in mock slumber, shifting imperceptibly in response to the touch.

"For now."

The gruff voice behind her was trying to its best to remain disinterested, but even Entropy couldn't help the fascination that seemed into his words. Creation laughed softly, standing up straight and turning to face her counterpart. Where Creation was slender and graceful, Entropy was coarse and ungainly, the perfect inverse. Light and dark.

"She has her whole life ahead of her," Creation replied, light steps bringing her brilliant, shining form across the rock they were both standing on. She stopped beside him, casting him a glance before looking back to the infant universe in the basket. "Can you imagine all of the new and wonderful things she'll create? All of the countless marvels that will live within her?"

Entropy scoffed and crossed his arms over his chest, shrugging his shoulders. "In time, it's all going to dissipate and end. Just like she will. I don't see much point in marveling at everything that will crumble and and dissipate back into the void." Black brows furrowed as his lips curled into a frown, bits of ebony crumbling from the corners of his mouth and disappearing into nothing. Creation simply shook her head, smiling at her counterpart.

"That end gives you purpose as much as the beginning give me the same thing," she cooed, lifting her hands up to smooth her fingertips across his brow. He shot her a look, empty eyes narrowing as he caught the gaze of her shining orbs. "Just as I'll marvel at what she creates, you'll watch with rapt attention at the things that she destroys. We'll watch that dance within her as she grows and ages. Eventually she'll pass away, and we'll start again. Try to enjoy the journey in the meantime, darling."

Entropy made a sound, something like a chuff that neither agreed nor disagreed with what she'd said. He looked at the infant universe resting in the illusory basket as Creation slid one of her slender arms around his, resting against him. Like parents, they watched as the universe they created opened her eyes, cosmic light dancing across the dark backdrop that made up the sclera. The forested backdrop and the stream running around the rock they were all standing in eventually faded away back into the void Creation had summoned it from, leaving just the three celestial beings. The engines of creation and entropy fired for the first time within the infant they created, and the Universe was set on her course.


Special thanks to @winstonwolfe for letting me use his photograph as the source of inspiration for this particular short, and thanks to @jazzyfish for setting up the shot that made it happen! This was a bit of a different thing for me to write, but for some reason, when I saw this photo, this was the first creative thought that entered my head. I hope you enjoyed reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it! Upvotes and critiques are always appreciated!


Andrei Chira is an anarcho-capitalist, former 82nd Airborne paratrooper, vaper, and all-around cool guy. He's a father to one wonderful little girl named Kate, lives down in Alabama, and spends his time writing stories, posting to Steemit (not as much as he probably should), and cultivating the mental fortitude to make it through three years of law school.


Sort:  

Purely beautiful.

I admire people who can write such beautiful things that keep me reading and feeling all kind of emotions, even tho I can see myself in "Entropy ", especially from the way I do and see things.

Again, beautiful, congratulations, and I wish you all the luck in the world :)

Thank you so very much! I appreciate the compliment, and I am glad that you enjoyed the story. I'm going to be focusing on more shorts and series here coming up, so if you want to follow me, stay tuned for more short fiction work in the future :D

I followed you, congratulations once again, and I'm eager to see what you'll write in the future :)

Wonderful from the writing to the picture. The journey from creation to entropy will be as unique is this post.

In the grand scheme of things, we've barely reached adolescence as far as the universe goes. There is still a wealth of experience for her to witness and foster!

You speak the truth.

You should've tagged this under DotS as this is born out of a photo prompt :D Magnificent story, brother! It's like that movie Inside Out, but on a more celestial scale. You really put on a clinic in terms of writing descriptions here, and you really did a great job painting a vivid picture. I especially like the dynamic between Entropy and Creation. Splendid work!

You know, I'm surprised you think so. I tried to go with the "less is more" approach this time around and see what people thought. Must have had the desired effect, seeing as y'all really enjoyed it! Food for thought, I think lol

And I didn't even think about that, despite the fact I put that post up calling for photographers and artists to help out! Next one I do will be, and hopefully I can get my girlfriend involved as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62260.20
ETH 2431.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64