The Second Book of the Alienbutt Saga. The Rise of Mr Fluffy. Part 51.

in #fiction7 years ago

ALIENBUTT 2.1.jpg

Commander Alienbutt, I presume?” he said cheerfully, sitting down at the table. Alienbutt noticed Crugack stiffen slightly from the corner of his eye. “I apologise that I was busy when you arrived.”
Looking over to the waiter, he pointed to the table before returning his attention to Alienbutt. “I decided it was time for a little lunch, so thought I would introduce myself. I’m Quint, a humble trader, and I understand that you have a business proposal for me?”
“I need information and I was informed that you may be the most reliable source,” Alienbutt said, sitting back in his chair.
“I have a large network of contacts, so I am well informed, If I do say so myself,” Quint said, sitting forward and making a pyramid with his hands. “So what is the nature of this information?” Quint never removed his eyes from Alienbutt as the waiter came over and placed a bottle and two small cups on the table.
“Would you care to join me for a drink while we talk?” he asked Alienbutt. “I would also invite our security chief to join us, but I’m sure we’ve kept him from pressing matters for far too long.”
Crugack took the hint and quickly made his excuses. “Yes, I must get on, nice to have met you Commander.”
Alienbutt watched as he stood and almost bolted from the food court. Returning his attention to Quint, he saw he was still being studied.

Space station.jpg

“It seems the chief is a little in awe of you,” Alienbutt observed.
“A very busy individual the chief is,” Quint said, brushing away Alienbutt’s statement as he poured a drink into each glass. “So, what information do you require? I’m sure we will be able to do business.”
“My emperor is writing a book on religions of the universe, or some such thing. It’s one of those things emperors do when they don’t have a war to win. He wishes to be remembered after his passing, I suppose. He has heard of a strange cult that lives past the Sharinta systems and has dispatched me to gather information on them. What I need are star maps and information of any travel restriction that would be on my route.” Alienbutt began, starting the story that he had worked out with Stoney and used with previous traders.
“You are on a fool’s errand, Commander. No one visits that region of space and returns. That cult does not allow visitors,” Quint said, taking a sip of his drink.
“Still, I am commanded to go there, and have travelled a great distance, too far to turn back now,” Alienbutt said in mock sadness as he picked up the glass and took a sip. The drink was sickly sweet but left an after-burn to tell of its strength. “I cannot return home without my report and at the very least a couple of items of significance.”
“If you enter that space you will not be returning home at all. They make sacrifices of any life-form that enters their space, and have been responsible for many raids along the borders of their space,” Quint pressed. “If I give you the information, I am sending you to certain death.”
Alienbutt picked up the bottle and poured two large measures and then downed his own. “If I go back without doing as commanded, I return to certain death. An emperor does not accept failure,” he said sadly.
Quint refilled Alienbutt’s drink. “I may be able to help you get around this little problem, but it will be expensive. Why don’t we go back to my offices where we can talk in private?”
Alienbutt got unsteadily to his feet and looked around the room. He noticed that all the people who were native to the planet below sat with their heads down. All seemed nervous and tried their best not to be seen or see what was happening Only a couple of off-worlders were present and looked more like hired muscle than traders. Alienbutt had spent years as a taxi driver and then a bounty hunter and now his senses had not just woken up, they were screaming out that he was in trouble.
He looked back at Quint and for a split second caught a look that confirmed that he was heading for trouble.
“If we are to talk business, then I need to return to my ship so I can pick up my trade goods. No point talking trade with nothing to show you,” Alienbutt said, his head beginning to throb.
“There’s no need for that. We can work out the details of our trade once you see what I have for you,” Quint replied, giving an easy friendly smile.

To be continued.
all images are mine.
alienbutt.jpg

Sort:  

Different post like it very much. Waiting for more like this from u. Upvoted

What an interesting brother theme!

good post sir. i enjoyed

thank you for sharing

Humm, drugged drink, or just to strong for Alienbutt. I would say drugged, after all Quint drank the stuff also, so he probably had a neutralizer drink before hand.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59529.60
ETH 2657.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41