A Vampire Eloim Story, Keeper of the Lore. Book 5 part 5.

in #fiction5 years ago

V.ELOIM 5.JPG

Eloim sat next to Gary in their parent’s rooms, the sounds of breaking furniture from their father’s office had finally subsided. Meanwhile their mother sat calmly reading, awaiting their father coming through to them.
“Shouldn’t I just go with them, then they can see I’m not possessed and it will all go away?” Eloim finally said.
“No, the veggie vamp will speak to you with your mum present, be careful of her as she can see between the words you say, she has a gift for spotting lies. Once she has spoke to you then I will go to the High Council and anyone who dares doubt my word will not leave the meeting. You have done nothing wrong Eloim and our clan will defend you no matter what.” His father Lord Vi said from the doorway to his office.
“Best if you don’t mention still speaking to Alexia or anything about Polly but tell her the rest.” Gary put in. “In the meantime, I’ll make sure that sword you got off the witch is in perfect condition.”
“Will it really come to war? I only did what I needed to get Polly back and survive.” Eloim asked.
“The clans plotting against us have done so for centuries Eloim, the High Council has given us a false peace since your Alexia wiped out the nests under Rome. Do not mention your betrothal either, claim you didn’t know the power of the ring you wore but it somehow captured the essence of the demon. If there is to be another clan war it is one that has been on hold for over four hundred years.” Eloim’s mother said calmly.
“Can we trust this Penny?” Gary asked.
“She is hated by the conservatives as much as by us, her views on not feeding directly on humans is against everything we all believe. Yet before she became this weird veggie vampire she was a great warrior so she is very dangerous. As for trusting her; she isn’t of our clan so we can’t.” their father said.
“So if our enemies hate her why choose her to come with the priest?” Gary asked. “She sounds more like a vampire they would hate and want to destroy.”
“That I don’t understand, your fathers dislike of her is down to a perceived betrayal, she was his second in command during the last Lycan wars. Once they were close, it was her views on feeding that led to a breakdown of their friendship.” their Mother said.
“Enough of ancient history, they probably think she still holds a grudge towards me after I denounced her to the council. She is indeed the one vampire who will be honest about Eloim, she may be many things but she won’t lie.” Eloim’s father said. “It is the priest we should worry about, he claims to be a friend but it is a long time since he could be trusted, if I ever really did trust him.”

Eloim sat waiting for Miss Penny, his mother sat on a chair behind him reading a book. Eloim had noticed whenever his parents were waiting or dealing with a problem they would always sit pretending to be reading. Finally the door opened and the strange vampire was shown in, she bowed to his mother before she sat opposite him.
“So pleased to finally meet you Eloim, I’ve followed you for almost five years on Facefiends.” Miss Penny said with a smile.
“I’m not on there, the account is run by someone else, no idea who, I suspect is was set up as a joke by one of my sisters.” Eloim replied.
“You have a lot of fans and supporters on there, you should have a look one day. Now down to the reason I was brought here, we are both outsiders to vampire culture and as such we are much the same. That said, your clan is far more understanding than mine was.” Miss Penny said with a smile as she took his hand between hers.
“I don’t see how we are alike.” Eloim said, for a moment Penny didn’t reply, Eloim felt a strangeness and then saw mages flash through his mind. Suddenly Miss Penny smiled and let go of his hands.
“There are many of our kind who hate us for no other reason than we do not conform.” Miss Penny said with a sad smile before leaning forward. “So many secrets Eloim, I will cut the pretence of questioning you as I think you know what I just did when I took your hands. Just remember to never trust the priest and be ready.” Miss Penny whispered so even his mother could not hear. “He is not possessed and I will report that back to the council.” She announced before she stood up.
“That was fast.” Eloim’s mother said suspiciously.
“Mother, she knows everything, she read my mind.” Eloim said in wonder, “Yet she will keep our secret, I saw she would never give us up as as she read my mind I could see her own thoughts.”
“Well that is new, usually those I read can tell nothing of my thoughts, even the few who can tell what I do know nothing of my thoughts.” Miss Penny said in surprise.
“You are a mystic?” Eloim’s mum asked. “My husband never said.”
“Back when we were friends my gifts were not so powerful, I just had a gift for spotting a lie. It is only since I chose my new path that they really developed.” Miss Penny explained.
“We have to tell dad that she can be trusted.” Eloim said.
“She may be the one vampire outside our clan you can trust in the days to come; the priest will insist you go with your father to the council. Watch your father’s back, he is a great warrior but I fear far too trusting of the honour of others.” his mother said standing up and walking over to her son.
“You expect something bad will happen?” Eloim asked.
“Every time he has gone away for the last thousand years.” his Mother answered. “Even with Miss Penny here testifying for you you will need to go with your father and go before the Council to prove you are not possessed. A game is afoot and it seems you have a central role to play.”
“Lady Vi, you know I always had your husbands back and that hasn’t changed. While I swore to be impartial in discovering the truth about your son I believed then as I do now that your clan is the way forward for our people. It saddens me that my friendship with your husband soured but I understand his point of view.” Miss Penny said.
“You made choices that my husband couldn’t accept, it was sad to see how your relationship crumbled. It did cause him much pain to lose such a trusted friend and sword sister.” Lady Vi said.
“As it did me also, it was hard to come here with the priest knowing how he would react to the sight of me. Time can’t heal the wounds of losing such a friendship to hate.” Miss Penny said sadly.

Sort:  

A little bit of reconciliation in the future maybe? Burying the sword of hate is always nice when it happens honestly in a story.

Lord Vi has always had a major failing in everything is black or white, there is no grey to how he views the world. Can he start to see the grey to accept help from Miss Penny who despite anything has stayed loyal to him.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61726.97
ETH 2392.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60