Journal Entry #1: Mountain Money (Original Work)

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

July 19, 2023 8:58pm

I’ve decided I need to start keeping a journal. I’m not sure who this will ultimately end up being for but for now, it’s for my own sanity. It’s been nearly four months since they got Joan. It’s taken me all of those months to be able to face that fact. I haven’t heard from or seen anyone for nearly two and a half months - two and a half long months. I miss Joan so much.

I did a little bit of scavenging today, I found a couple much needed batteries. Those will allow me to continue to use my radio twice daily in the hopes of making contact with other survivors. So far though I’ve had minimal success. I also found a couple cans of pork and beans but, dear God, do I hate pork and beans. The real winner of this trip was my ass. I found what adds up to be 3 (mostly) unused rolls of grade-A American two-ply TP. I swear to God that shit is worth it’s weight in gold - then again, gold is worthless these days…

I guess there’s really a lot that has changed. I don’t know what I miss the most about life before. Everything back then seems so unreal now. Everything we did was next to meaningless. It used to be hard to die, people spent millennia making it hard to die. Suddenly overnight it got a hell of a lot easier. One mistake today and it very likely will be your last.

I guess we’ll see how this all goes, for now I think since it’s dark I’m just going to go to sleep. I really shouldn’t risk using anymore lantern light to write, they might see it. If you find this and this was my last entry, then I probably didn’t make it. Enjoy the toilet paper.

basic-1239213_1280.jpg

Photo from Pixabay.com

Please let me know if you enjoyed reading this, it's really just an experiment at this point but I would love to continue to write more. Thanks! Akuda

Sort:  

Great story :) !

Thank you! We'll see where it goes!

I love dystopian fiction, I will follow and see where it leads.

Thank you!

This post has received a sweet gift of Dank Amps in the flavor of 12.71 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @akuda. Vote for Aggroed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63793.25
ETH 3410.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59