My Crush

in #fiction6 years ago

images (11).jpg

Being in an all girls boarding school wasn't easy. It made us attracted to anything wearing trousers, especially when it's the opposite sex (doesn't matter if he's cute or ugly), inasmuch as he is ‘male’ which is not commonly found in the school. And women where easily judged on what they were putting on; if their make up was right, or if their fashion was up to date.
Imagine a school with over six hundred female students and about ten male staffs. There was always a common misunderstanding between them because of one male teacher or the other. I am among the few who would admire but not go close to the male teacher, the rest had the habit of always being around them like flies around cow.
There came this Wednesday morning during the assembly when five corp members where introduced to us; two female and three male. I wasn't paying attention to what the principal was saying before their introductions because I was gossiping with my bestie Mimi. Not until I heard a deep voice introduce himself as Sir Dozie Awoh.
That was when I looked up and saw this dark beauty. He wore a white T-shirt with light brown khaki trouser. Could not see his foot 'cos I wasn't tall enough and was standing at the back. However, he got better the more I looked. His black hair was cut very low in a nice way. He had strong arched brows and eyelashes so thick, it could be illegal. And then his eyes... they seemed to be chocolate brown like the inside of Snickers bar. His lips pale, thick and full, just the way I like it. And his nose slender and rounded. A prominent jaw curved gracefully around and the strength of his neck showed in the twining cords of muscle that shaped his entire body; strong arms, bold thighs. He seemed to have said something funny 'cos everyone laughed and he smiled showing his deep dimples. I liked the way the smile got to his eyes. I was staring at him like he casted a spell on me. All I could think of was what his scent will be like when I get the opportunity to stand close to him.
Was brought to reality by Mimi who tapped me.
“Babe see this cute corper o.”
“Who? The dark one ?” Please don't be interested in him I said to myself.
“Yes o. Sir Dozie is his name. He will be taking SS1 Biology.” She say smiling like she's daydreaming about him.
“Really?” I didn't notice or hear when that was said. Maybe 'cos I was busy crushing and admiring him.
“See this one with his cracked teeth.” She says referring to the other male corper who is now talking. I join her to laugh at him. But my laugh wasn't a true one 'cos I was still distracted by Sir Dozie
I keep taking secret peaks at him since I don't want people to notice or catch me staring at him. I wished he could notice me. The assembly ended soon enough and we started marching to our various classes. We the SS3s are usually the last to leave the assembly and the route to our class is on the side where teaching staffs usually stand during assembly. While we were marching away, I do something that I've never done before. I laugh a little too loud at nothing important. This was done with the intention of drawing Sir Dozie's attention towards me. To my greatest disappointment, some teachers notice me but not Sir Dozie. He is busy smiling to one of the female corpers he came with. I don't know her name (probably cos I don't care to know). This changed my mood immediately and I knew today wasn't going to go well. I bet you, the discussion for the rest of the week was on ‘The new corpers; especially Sir Dozie n one they had quickly nick named Broken teeth’.
We didn't see the new corp members for the rest of the week till monday morning at the assembly. I choose to conduct the assembly that morning so he could see me. But as usual he didn't notice me. During break on Wednesday, I was coming from the canteen with Mimi when we see him standing under the mango tree, pressing his phone. I immediately looked away and started a gist that wasn't necessary at that point in time.
“Look its Sir Dozie.” Mimi tap me and say silently.
“Oh…” I answer nonchalantly still looking away as we get closer to where he is standing.
“Good morning Sir.” Mimi greets him cheerfully.
I murmur my own ‘good morning’ and start walking past him but is dragged back by Mimi.
“Good morning. How are you?” He smiles showing those deep dimples again.
Oh... how I have missed them. When I notice him look at me, I frown like I have no interest in him. He then shifts his eyes back to Mimi who is obviously drawling over him. She begins conversing with him like she knows him before. She makes friends that easily I stand at the corner playing with my fingers and hoping that they ring the ‘break-over’ bell. My prayer is immediately answered as I hear the bell.
“Em…sorry Sir” I look from his cute face to Mimi's “I have to run. Have a note to complete.” I start walking away quickly without waiting for any response.
A minute later, Mimi walks in smiling. She sits on her desk which is behind mine and tap me. “Why did you go?”
“You know I don't like standing with teachers especially male teachers.” I say as I drink my Sprite.
“Even if…you would've just waited for me. I was asking him what NYSC is like.” She drags my Sprite from me and gulps some down.
I quickly snatch it back and start drinking it.
“Beauty put that Sprite away immediately.” Our literature teacher whom I didn't notice had entered class, told me.
“Sir it's not Sprite but water.” I say giggling with Mimi as I give the remainder to her.
Overtime, anytime I'm outside my class, I use the opportunity to look around for him while acting like I didn't care about him. I look for every opportunity to walk past the lab just so I can steal a glance at him. To the extent that I follow the science students for their class in the lab once in a while just so I can see him sitting at the corner with his headphones on, pressing his phone. A sign I took to show that he had no interest in younger girls like us. Sometimes I think he is chatting with that female teacher; Miss Ifeoma who didn't seem to stop hovering over him. I heard she sometimes chased or punished any student who is found in the lab or anywhere around Sir Dozie. It made me dislike her a lot.
Eventually my crush for Sir Dozie reduced few weeks to our Neco. I kinda got tired of crushing on someone who wasn't noticing me. After our exam, we were asked to go home and come back for our graduation a day to the D-day on mufti, nicely made hair and our phones. At the gala night, we are dancing and shouting as to be expected. At a time I go outside the hall to make a call. The call lasts for just ten minutes. As I try to head for the hall, I hear that familiar deep voice call my name.
“Beauty!”
My heartbeat stops, then begins to beat faster than normal. I turn and thats when I notice the silhouette I hadn't notice was there. It's Sir Dozie.
“Good evening Sir.” I say while withdrawing back. ‘So he knows my name.’ I say to myself in shock.
“How are you doing?” He says as he comes closer.
I don't wait for anyone to tell me what to do. I take off immediately without answering. I run like I'm in trouble. I can't believe Sir Dozie mentioned my name. When safely in the hall, I try to catch my breath. I'm cut short by the short vibration of my phone. I open the whatsapp message and see.
Lol. Why did you run like that?
Nanoseconds and the second message follow.
Sorry if I scared you Beauty. I didn't mean to.
Before I can think of what to reply, another comes in.
I only wanted to talk with you. You look nice in that gown anyway.
It seemed like a dream to me. I didn't reply his non stop chat that night or three nights after. It took me about three months to believe he loved me and wanted to date me. He explained how he has always admired and wanted me. He was only waiting for the right time to ask me out. After 6 years of dating, we are finally getting married tomorrow with Mimi as my chief bridesmaid.

Sort:  

Keep writing.

A suggestion, leave a space between paragrapghs, it makes it easier to read.

Alright thanks friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56159.14
ETH 2370.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30