You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Hole At Smithfield Meat Market

in #fiction6 years ago

Hmmm... I think if the story extended a bit further, it would have turned into another Junji Ito-like story. An unsolved phenomena, human sanity and integrity being tested, and more questions remaining unsolved as the story progresses. Almost like a cosmic horror. Are HP Lovecraft's stories the source of inspiration for this work?

Sort:  

I mean I enjoy Lovecraft's mythos (more than his actual writing style, if I'm being honest), as well as Junji-Ito. I guess they inspire me. But I don't ever sit down to try and write like anyone. I just try to take images or elements that are there then put people down and see where it goes.

I had the idea of the meat market as a gruesome corpse processing factory, proletarian dread and suffering, and then some kind of unknowable cosmic horror thing. put them together then see where the plot needs to go.

thanks for reading

I see. Seems your line of thinking is how I also approach my art works. just elements and mix and mash up to see what I can create. By the way, I like the name "Dirge", coincidentally, one of the characters I have in my unreleased and unfinished short stories. Congratulations on the curie upvote! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64778.13
ETH 2531.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68