Christophe the cricket | A Short story for childrensteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction7 years ago

Christophe.png

Christophe is a friendly little cricket and loves travelling around with his violin. He jumps everywhere, visiting many different gardens, parks, farms making friends with all the other insects he encounters. The lady bugs always laugh at his jokes, the butterflies love listening to him playing his music and the bees are so happy to see him that they dance in the air for him. Christophe indeed loves every single one of them, but his favourite thing of all is to meet other little crickets like him, so then they can chirp all night long together. The night time is when he feels most inspired to chirp and play!

After a whole day’s resting Christophe decided yet again to take leave and explore new grounds, and there he went jumping and turning, jumping and turning; greeting everyone crossing his way. “Hello Carl the cockroach”, Christophe would pronounce smiling. “How are you Lily the locust?”, he would inquire ahead; while all the insects would wave back at him with a big smile on their faces. That was a beautiful night!

Christophe continued to jump and turn, and jump and turn again; but he began to get tired and wished to find a garden with lots of other insects to spend the night playing to and chirping with. “It would be so good if I could find other little crickets like me”, Christophe thought ... He was more tired now, even a little upset. Then, he heard something from afar, the moon was full and bright; he could easily see the way. “It is a farm!”, Christophe exclaimed at the entrance! “Great! I bet I will find lots of other insects here!”. All he saw, though, was a pony calmly flicking his tail. Christophe looked everywhere, but didn’t find a single insect! How could this be?

Two hours went by... there were no other insects around. Paco the pony watched Christophe from a distance smiling at him, but Christophe just decided to settle by the fence. He sat there, put his violin aside, looked at the beautiful full moon and at the strange pony, who would not stop smiling at him. Christophe, meanwhile, alone by the fence, just longed for someone to talk to on that beautiful night. Paco the pony soon realized Christophe was not going anywhere and went over to talk to him.

“Hello” said Paco. Christophe just replied sadly “Hi”. “Why are you so upset? Isn’t it a beautiful night? Christophe sighed and said “Because I thought I was going to find lots of other insects like me and make lots of new friends tonight. Where are they all?” Paco laid down in order to get closer to Christophe; then he said “Oh, all the insects ... they went to Bobo the pig’s birthday party. Do you know him”. “No”. Said Christophe feeling even more upset now. “I can be your friend”. “How?”Cried Christophe adding “You are a pony and I am a cricket!”. “I can see that” Paco replied. “So?” Christophe inquired and continued “We are too different, can’t you see?”

Paco looked amazed at Christophe and said “Well my little friend, I don’t know where you come from, but on this farm everyone is friends with everyone; the chickens, the pigs, the insects. In fact, I cannot wait for them to come back with a big slice of cake for me! I stayed tonight, because today was my turn to watch the farm. We all work together here and help each other, despite our differences. In fact, Christophe the cricket, our differences is what makes us more efficient and enriched. You see, you can crawl under places I could not fit into, while I can push and pull the things you can’t.” Christophe was intrigued ... he thought for a while and realised Paco was right! He felt very happy again. He had a new friend, one very different from him, Paco the pony; he could learn a lot from Paco and also teach him many things.

“Do you like music Paco?” Christophe said jumping up already reaching for his violin! “I love music Christophe!” Paco replied with sparkling eyes; then continued .... We are so different, but are already discovering we like the same things! Christophe had a huge smile on his little face. “Well... why don’t you play the violin for me until they all come back from the party with my cake? Do you like cake Christophe? “I love cake!” Christophe’s tummy was already rumbling. “Paco laughed saying; it seems we are not that different after all! I will share my cake with you, then” They won’t be long ... but, please Christophe play something, because I can hear your tummy from here! They both laughed.

Christophe played the violin for Paco until all the others arrived.

Original content by Abigail Dantes 2017 – Story inspired by original artwork from Agnes Laczo – To see more beautiful illustrations like this please follow @agneslaczo’s blog.

Sort:  

Beautifully written! Unmistakable admit though, it did make me quite hungry all at the same time, lol. You got a great blog going here and I hope you continue going from strength to strength.

Great stuff. :)

@ezzy!!! 😍 Thank you for reading and commenting! You are always SO encouraging. I appreciate it very much! THANK YOU! ❤️

Awesome story! The picture of an ideal world, even if it is of insects. Hope humans will learn to live like this one day.

And who doesn't like a delicious cake!

Thanks for posting such a nice read :-).

@maxabit! How great to have yet another meaningful comment from you. You are always so thoughtful ...
Cake ... yum ...
Have a great weekend and thank you for your support! :D
Best!

Owwwwwwwww , I am so happy for paco <3

Good for train my english in a funny way! :)

when are we getting a new story ? :(

Oh ... thanks @trumpman :D
Hopefully towards the end of the week!
:*

That's ridiculously adorable.... Love their banter. This could probably be turned into a book with all the other farm animals, @abigail-dantes

Wow @authorofthings it means a lot coming from you! I really appreciate your taking the time to read my little story and commenting :D
THANK YOU!
Best.

What a lovely story! My grandkids would have loved it in earlier years. You obviously have a talent for storytelling and the message that shines through is an excellent one. Thank you.

I enjoyed it!

Niiice! Love that story! Upvoted and followed you for more ! :)

Thanks @godflesh! I really like your blog by the way ... 🙂

Thanks. It is quite normal, we both are literature maniacs, hehe :D

Beautiful, happy that the cockroach is inside.

Ahaha .... of course it is! ( I do remember you wrote about them a while ago... 😊).
Thank you @bubke.

Sweet story. A great reminder why diversity is awesome. I love where I live because you see people from all over the world. People with different talents and perspectives. Rock on, chica!

Oowww @karencarrens ... it is so great having your comments!!! ❤️
All the best.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70153.57
ETH 3783.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72