Emma Bartali: Adventures in Mind

in #fiction-trail8 years ago (edited)

Poor and Rich have always lived in different countries, regardless how close their houses were. - Beggars Trilogy, Nancy Kress (my translation from the German translation ;) )

Hello. My Name is Emma. Emma Bartali.
You may have heard of my grandfather. He was born in the town right across the hill, in Velia. He is the town’s chief.

But when he was young he was an adventurer. He traveled through all the western kingdoms, to Calpheon and even to the then new town of trent!
Can you imagine that?
But after years of traveling he came back and wrote a book about his adventures. Bartali’s odd Adventure. You can buy it from Bahar. It is quite famous, so you can use it as a trade good to make a nice profit if you are adventuring too.

Ah, I am so envious of you! I wish I could wander around. Maybe to Heidel. I heard it is a nice town. Or Calpheon. It is a splendid city!
Oh, but did you know what my grandfather told me about Calpheon? That it is not only a very rich, but at the same time very poor city! Can you imagine that?
The people in the Kalis, the rulers of the city, have big houses and hundreds of people serving them. But then there are many other people living in the slums. The often even cannot afford something to eat, so there are lots of thieves in Calpheon.
My grandfather told me a lot about the splendors of Calpheon, but the thing that he remembers the most is, that from the noble gardens, where the rich nobles were drinking expensive wine from Olvia, he could look down at the slum houses where the poor were living – and often dying. He said he was in tears after walking through the quarters of the poor, and not only because of getting robbed.

I want to visit Calpheon, but I am not sure if I wanted to live there. Here I have my farm. Of course, it is a lot of work, but you never have to hunger. It’s just so much work…
Oh, by the way, could you help me a bit?
The chimney is blocked again and I fear climbing on the roof. You would really help me if you could climb up there. Oh, and if you have a bit of time I could need some logs. That would really help me!




As I like efficiency, this text is an entry to two “challenges” at once, one from @dragosroua and one from @michelle.gent /fiction-trail AND a fan-fiction on something (Black Desert Online) I wanted to write in one way or the other anyway.

Because I always thought at that daily quest: Maybe Emma would have less problems with her chimney of she used less and dryer logs…

Sort:  

I guess that should tell me something?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68559.31
ETH 2695.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73