Stonewalled by Oblique

in #fiberartists6 years ago (edited)

How many of you can relate to this: I'm working on a pattern that I would love to put down permanently but I can't. It's for my daughter, who is very patiently awaiting it. It's call Oblique from Knitty.com.

I have it set up in my bullet journal. (If you don't know what that is look here) Each chart has been checked and double checked x's 2. You can see where I'm keeping track of every row, increase and decrease with my pencil on the chart page.

I carefully knit swatches with the amazing Camel Hair wool my friend Jackie gave me. She was cleaning out her stash and said, "Here. I'll never use it.".... I Love My Friends! I love working with this wool so much I took a picture.....GRIN Took a bit but my swatches for gauge are dead on.

My daughter has auburn hair and deep brown eyes. This will look dynamite on her! ...... I hope. That is if I ever get it finished. Each piece I've knit, even the back, has 6 stitches too many left on the needles after the raglan decrease. ARGGGHHHH!

You know how I said I like it when you share your frustrating moments? This is why....I'm feeling a little better as I'm writing this because I'm hoping one of you dear friends may know what I'm doing wrong. Or just a "There. There." wouldn't go amiss. GRIN

I've been in touch with the pattern designer. Very helpful person. It has something to do with what I'm doing when I'm trying to keep the pattern while decreasing.

Here's the back and left front:

The picture quality isn't the best but you can see the pattern. It's quite lovely.

Here's one of the arms. Both are knit up to the raglan decrease.

I won't let this sweater defeat me but it's really trying. If anyone has made this sweater successfully please give me some suggestions? I would really love you forever! LOL!

I've set a deadline. Her 33rd birthday is April 25. I will have it done by then or fall off Steem trying.

Until next time friends!

Sort:  

Without knowing exactly what you're doing for the decreases, it's hard to tell where the issue is happening. I once was doing a weird yarn over while doing decreases and kept adding a new Stitch as I merged the other two and not realizing it.
Of course, I once misread a pattern so bad that I had the shoulder only one inch wide instead of 3 inches, and then I had to go back and add a whole new section to the vest in order to make it work at all. So I'm not the best knitter to be offering ideas...
I'm looking forward to posting pictures of this one being done, it looks like a really neat piece!
Is it possible to do a decrease every now and then while doing the last portion and slowly decrease down to where you need to be? Or make a decrease part of the pattern for the first two rows of the next portion?

I could kiss you...LOL. I'm wondering if the 'wierd' yo has something to do with it....maybe... BTW... is your vest in one of your posts? I haven't gone back very far yet (yes...I find talent and fun people and creep their posts....it's fun) Sounds like you got creative with your vest. I bet it turned out well.
I have to be honest, I've stuck to the pattern like glue but if you idea about the yo's doesn't work I may have to follow your lead and get creative. Thanks for the ideas!

I haven't posted about the vest yet because I'm still debating if I going to rip it out and retry it again... it's only been 7 years. When I'm home next I'll try to grab a picture of it so you can see where I messed up and what I did to add some type of width to the shoulder and arms.

well that may be the problem.. try sitting on a chair when knitting instead of Steem

Smart ass! LOL

LOLLLLL too funny!

Beautiful yarn and beautiful pattern! I love the stitch work! I think it will look gorgeous on her with her auburn hair.

I see you have gotten a few great suggestions from fellow crafters which is great because I sure couldn’t help you with knitting right now. I’m still trying to master the basics (when I have time which is hardly ever 😏). I hope some of these suggestions work for you. I’ll be looking forward to seeing the progress of your work!!

You're always so supportive! Thanks Crosheille. I'll make sure to share when it's done.

Absolutely! 😉

I’m glad she’s 33.

Part of the reason I don’t make clothes for my kids is that by the time I finish, it doesn’t fit them anymore.

LOL!!! My Mom was a little slow finishing things......giggle...giggle....in 1984 she started a really cool sweater dress for me... she gave it to me, finished, in 1999. Didn't quite fit but I'll never part with it.

I ❤️ moms.

😂😂

Congratulations @fiberartists! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

I hope you find the mistake and can work it out. If I do something wrong and forget to correct it...sigh... the project normally gets abandoned (in this moment I remember a cardigan which I made to short and with vastly different tensions - I fear it will sleep forever in it box)

NO>... not the box! I think we all have our "failures" but they aren't really. I bet one day you suddenly grab that cardigan and do something really creative with it!

you mean burning it and becoming a youtube star while filming it?? 😆 😆

That could be fun too! LOL

Sorry you're struggling with that section of the pattern @fiberartists...
My only suggestion would be to check whether the actual pattern is correct... any errata available ?

Thanks @cryptocariad .... I have found any errata but thanks for the suggestion. Everyone here is awesome!

Veronik Avery is one of my favourite designers. What a beautiful sweater! Good luck.

She really is a excellent designer! And thanks for the kind words.

That wool yarn is simply beautiful. I love the color and the pattern, too! I hope you figure out where the knitting is going wrong. I don't like that you're going through that, but yet it makes me feel better about my own mistakes (like my now-yarn-ball egg apron haha) to see other people posting theirs. Commiseration does a crafter a world of good :)

It sure does!! Lord knows we all need it!

I think it will be wonderful for your brown-eyed daughter! Very beautiful and high-quality work, I'll wait to see the finished sweater. I also know how to knit, I even have a knitting machine. But I sew more)).

As long as we are creating we are happy! GRIN Thanks for the kind works and thanks for stopping by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61040.35
ETH 2922.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31