Cooking Flattend Rice\Poha -Food Fight Friday

in #fff5 years ago
On occasion of Food Fight Friday, I cooked Flattened Rice today. Flattened Rice are called POHA in native Indian language. Poha is one of the most popular breakfast\evening snack for both North Indians and South Indians. Poha is flattened rice, dry and soft in texture.

Here is my cooked Poha(Flattened Rice)


C10EFD37-E0EE-4E24-AE41-C68F7EB7732D.jpeg

What you need

--Flattened Rice\Poha
--Water
--Cooking oil
--Onion, Tomato ,Capsicum, peas(plus any other vegetable you like)
--Basic Indian Spices - Salt, turmeric, powerdered red pepper, coriander powder, cumin seeds

Let's do it the simple way

Wash the flattened rice gently then spread them on a paper. Why we need to do it - Flattened rice are flat & dry but they need a measured scale of puffiness in them where water comes to rescue. Once you soak them in water and then spread on paper, the required amount is soaked by the rice and extra is absorbed by the paper. This makes the poha perfect - light and puffy.

9DC1B08F-7C81-422E-BAA8-5E8CDBBCC2A1.jpeg

Now till the time Poha is resting on a paper. Take a pan, add some cooking oil and cumin seeds. Cook it for a minute, then add chopped onion. Let it cook till the onion get its pretty golden color. Then add other vegetables of your choice. Here I have added tomato, peas and green bell pepper because I want my poha to look colorful.






Now when the vegetables have cooked. Add salt, powdered red pepper, powdered turmeric, coriander powder. Remember in Indian cooking - Spices go as per your taste, it justs this - most of the Indian people like spicy food. This is how our elders have been eating and we also get used to it.










Mix it all well, mix it, mix it, mix it.

Now your POHA will be ready with perfect amount of moisture. Add the poha into the vegetable and spices mixture, mix it all gently. Poha is a very soft food so make sure you treat it gently - this is how it will be in its prettiest form in your plate.

91803067-6CAA-4EEE-AA9D-BD9F36E69D8F.jpeg
FBE40488-F5A9-45CA-9691-1994C9F5E4FC.jpeg

Keep Calm and Steem On

The good times are back :)

Connect with me on Instragram



Communities I am part of

Sort:  

Oh, how I wish I could eat that! It looks so delicious. Clear recipe. Maybe I'll make it for someone else :)

Hehe make it for yourself :P dear :)

There was a time...I was a food adventurer. If it was new, I had to try it. But the tummy is not so forgiving as we age 😇
These days I'm more of a food tourist (observer )--though, I do love to feed others.

Oh yes that's true, tummy becomes sensitive with age. That's a fun fact of life.
Food tourist is also an interesting role :):)

o so the yellow collor is becouse coriander powder. i thought it was curry when i saw the picture before i read the recipe.

Posted using Partiko Android

no its because of the turmeric :D

wow we dont have that here never saw that befor. it is like red-yellow ginger? it has the same taste?

Posted using Partiko Android

No. It is like a yellow powder with no taste when its raw, but it increases taste of the food and gives it the color. Plus the health benefits are amazing.

It looks so tasty:) Turmeric is a favourite spice for me, i use it in potatos also:)

Oh wow, good to know Turmeric is used at other places too :) Turmeric and potato is yum.

Woww... I thought all day of eating rice. Seeing this is just mind blowing. Pfoo, I'm starving in here already, not to mention I almost est nothing today. Cant wait to put the baby asleep and then I cook something for myself. Maybe I'll make some rice :d:d

ehehe yeah miss deli eat something, so maybe you ate rice :P ?

Hey hey! Yes, I did some rice, my own recipe with whatever I had at home. But I tried to make it indian style so I added turmeric, cinnnamon, chilly, annis and cardamom seeds. It was very delicious but I couldnt enjoy it yo the maximum because I droped a little to much chilly and I was afraid not to eat so spicy because I am still breastfeeding my baby. :d

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh amazing that you made it finally. Hehe too much chilly and breastfeeding - we have that rule here too. Good to know if goes same for all mamas around the world.

I would devour a bowl of this right now! Rice and veggies never go out of style. Especially with all of those delicious spices.

Exactly rice and veggies never out of style, thanks for dropping by :)

Congratulations @vibesforlife! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 150 posts. Your next target is to reach 200 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

This looks delicious. I love Indian spices. Tonight I made Indian spices roasted veggies and they were delish. Happy food fight @vibesforlife!

Oh wow Indian spices roasted veggies, sounds yum yum. Happy food fight :):)

So yum. I was lucky enough to find a bag of powdered turmeric at the organic store here. Different spices can be extremely hard to find where we are. A few months ago I even bought a small bag of Marsala spice which paired very well with the turmeric. Not to mention all of the health benefits turmeric provides. I think I’ll make some more tonight 😋

oh you have turmeric, nice to know. Marsala spice, wow, have that too, marsala is a very popular spice in India. Good to know you have them :):)

They were kind of difficult to find but I did find them. Discovering places through their food and local spices is so amazing. I’d love to travel India discovering all of the greatness that makes up their cuisines. Maybe one day 🤷🏼‍♀️

Oh yes one day for sure :)

Yes! I’m glad you made it back @vibesforlife, it’s great to see you again. This is only a perfect dish—the only thing that would make it better is if we were continuing this conversation in the flesh while enjoying your creation. Enjoy your weekend.

Oh yesss :):)
thank you for dropping by dandays :)

@vibesforlife
Your Food Fight Friday Contender has been entered into Round 47
May your contender make it out alive and not be placed in a permanent food coma!
B5E5B35B-2DB2-40C2-BC1A-8750ECD4870D.gif
Good Luck

Food coma :p haha

LOOKS AMAZING

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57495.98
ETH 2320.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35