Food Fight Friday meets - The Humble Apple

in #fff6 years ago

I like apples! Who doesn't? Apples are awesome. Apples are healthy. Apples are tasty. Apples are fun. Apples could well be the most versatile fruit of all the fruit in the world of fruity fruit land! - Where the hell is that?… umm, anywhere and everywhere! 😁

apple-256266_960_720.jpg
(Src: pixabay)

An Apple a day keeps the doctor away!

Well, that's what my Granny use to tell me. Of course being a kid, I didn't listen. I would much rather munch down on some chocolate or a chewy bar… or any kind of sweets. Hindsight being what it is, and judging by the state of my teeth now, I think perhaps I should of listened. Granny was much wiser than I gave her credit for at the time.

20180824_120349.jpg
(Src: Healthline.com)

Just look at that. Packed full of nutritional goodness, all wrapped up in a edible takeaway wrapper. You can eat every last bit too. Well, maybe not including that little twiggy bit that holds it to the tree.

But if you don't like the skin (they can be a bit tuff sometimes), no problem, just peel it!

72fH.gif
Src

Apples are tasty!

Yes indeedy, apples are tasty. There are literally hundreds of recipes for tasty things to make with apples. There are ideas and recipes for both savoury dishes and sweet dishes, even treats like toffee apples.

My favourite though, has to be Apple Pie!

520982-1-eng-GB_cold-apple-pie-for-breakfast-470x540.jpg
Src and recipe

Scrumptious when served warm with vanilla ice cream!

My other favourite, Apple Crumble!

596504-1-eng-GB_apple-and-blackberry-frangipane-crumble-470x540.jpg
Src and recipe

Ok, so that one is Apple and BlackBerry but hey, it's food damn it, be adventurous! Also best served with ice cream... and more than the stingy scoop in that photo aye! Huh, what the hell's up with that chef? - talk about proportional balance 🤨

My Another other favourite! 😁 Apple Strudel

514644-1-eng-GB_apple-strudel-470x540.jpg
Src and recipe

Yes, I know, they're all desserts. What can I say, I've got a sweet tooth!

My Another, another other favourite!

Ha, I could go on all night. I'll stop there thought… I need to get on with the next bit before it turns in to Saturday. I don't fancy another fish slap just yet.

Apple are FUN!

Yeap, Apples are fun alright! Who hasn't had a go at 'Bobbing Apples'. Apart from the fact you run the risk of drowning, it's a great laugh….

TWB-apple-bobbing-1-3-1.gif
Src

Well that wasn't quite what I had in mind, but yes, adults can play too!

What's that? You don't have a big enough tub? No problem, tie them on a string…

apple-3-e1506846471848.jpg
Src

Your pets will love it too!

tenor (2).gif
Src

tumblr_oyprtsoT6Z1stgzx6o1_400.gif
Src

See… Apples Are Awesome!

Well That's it for now folks.

Good luck to all you other contenders, can't wait to see what I'm up against this week. If you're not a contender you can still vote for me 😁 when this week's contender post is published by @foodfightfriday. (Follow him now so you don't miss his post!)

Oh, ok, you can vote for any of the entries (or me) this week. However, as it strictly against the rules for me to vote for myself, I think it would help you to feel like you've achieved something really great, if vote for me. By the way your hair looks nice today! 😁

If you're quick you could enter yourself too!

Just post anything food related and tag it #fff

Ok folks, that really is it for now

As always, Thanks for looking - Regards and best wishes

@sivehead

Sort:  

Another laugh received sir, thanks again. Skinning the apple is genius, I thought the screw gun was unsafe, apparently I was holding the wrong end.

God bless Granny. I quit reading after i saw that apple pie hahaha yum yum

Well, @sivehead. I do like apples. I probably should eat more of them. When it comes to apple pie or apple desserts, though, I can get pretty picky. Not sure why. I've been told I'm rather un-American by none other than my own family. Which, of course, is impossible, since I was American before they were. :)

It's always fun to see what we're all up against. It seems like it's getting tougher and tougher to compete each week.

Apples are a fave of mine too! They will soon be in peak season along with everything pumpkin spiced (not mentally prepared for that one.)
I plan to do an apple recipe soo for #fff!

Oooo... an apple recipe with a @lizzyib twist. Can't wait to see that one. 😎👍

Way to keep the comedic juices flowing @sivehead. I was just telling someone else that I was given so much Apple juice as a kid (apparently I didn’t care for milk) that I rotted my baby teeth out. So, I had 4 silver crowns on my 4 front teeth. Looking back at pictures I still think I was cute. Good thing my adult teeth weren’t effected. Ever since then you can keep the Apple juice, I’ll take a slice of warm pie though with an ice cream scoop. Thank god you know the value of a hot cold contrast dessert. Haha

Good job Sir! Every week is getting harder and harder to keep up with you guys. Keep the food flinging…

I had 4 silver crowns on my 4 front teeth.

Wow, I bet the tooth fairy almost went bankrupt when they fell out!

It's tradition. Apple pie without ice cream, huh... it's blasphemy I tell you, blasphemy!

Haha, total and complete blasphemy. I don’t trust the person who passes on the cold scoop, they are probably a serial killer. Hot cold contrast dessert is so perfect I even have a dessert dance for it. The ice cream is most necessary.

Congratulations @sivehead! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34