You’re The H*%%*# To My Cracker : Food Fight Friday

in #fff6 years ago (edited)

Ohhhhh laaaaaa you crazy Food Fight Flingers!

The weeks just seem to fly by here and even though I just put out a @foodfightfriday post, apparently today calls for another one. Well alrighty then…

Dandays and I have been on straight CHILL mode this last week. Good thing too because since we’ve been here we’ve hit the pavement running. It’s nice to have a little brake action (pun and spelling intended 😉) once in awhile.

Today, I sit in our air B and B with two loads of laundry in (I always have to have clean sheets), black beans cooling (I’m making a sweet treat out of them suckers), chickpeas drying (did someone say falafel night?), and @dandays right at my side (my tarantula warrior) writing our Food Fight Friday Steemit posts. Sounds like a good life, huh?

I know I’ve been a little stingy on the recipe posts so here’s a little something something for you to smoke on… Meet my half of this triple F contender, read @dandays’ contender for the other half.

A28B8C79-CEC9-4F48-9476-326CAD7333DE.jpeg

Wheat Thin Free Crackers

I know what you’re thinking “really, Puravida? Your first recipe back and you’re going to share crackers?”

Well, yeah. I’m going to share crackers, crackers that are easy, crackers that are quick, crackers that are gluten and grain free, and crackers that, if you’re on this stupid super restrictive diet like me, can be had by all.

Check it out…

D80C994C-840A-4CEB-88D9-5F49E1CBC459.jpeg

Ingredients

1.75 Cup almond flour
1 egg (large egg)
1 Tsp pink Himalayan sea salt
1-3 dash black pepper
1-3 dash garlic powder

Preheat your oven to 350 F

With your start up looking like the picture above go ahead and crack that egg(s) in a bowl and add your spices.

DC2DF5FC-7866-4522-A47A-91578C890311.jpeg

Add your almond flour and if you don’t have enough almond flour on hand (like myself) then also add a tablespoon or two of coconut flour. Careful though, coconut flour loves to soak up any liquid so you don’t want to overdo it and ruin your dough.

1D4A2DFC-E603-456E-A88C-99444A277950.jpeg

Mix it all really well. Shortly after mixing I switched my tool from a whisk to a fork because all of my dough ended up entangled within my whisk. I suggest you just start out with the fork and bypass all that unnecessary hassle.

D5173269-DCA1-4B6B-9245-C521F123708C.jpeg

Next, I put down some plastic wrap, plopped my big ball of dough down on it, hand flatten a bit, cover with another piece of plastic wrap, and whipped out my rolling pin.

I use the term MINE loosely as we are staying at a fully furnished and kitchen equipped air B and B.

70976FD6-F61F-45AF-B3B8-8270B68878DF.jpeg

Try to roll your dough out as thin as possible. This makes for a crispier and much tastier cracker.

079BD864-8489-4BD2-BA97-8EF3FD9C952B.jpeg

Using a sharp knife cut strips into your dough and then cross them to make cracker shaped rectangles.

832E32FD-AC41-47F8-B158-DB969E26E43B.jpeg

Carefully transfer the rectangles to a greased baking sheet and shake a little extra pink salt on top.

9EAC6BEA-DB97-429F-B2EA-5E789B4A4543.jpeg

Put them in the oven for 15-18 minutes. I like mine pretty crispy so the longest I can go without burning them is perfect for me.

6EC94BDF-6730-4E3E-A854-B6551B7173A9.jpeg

Of course I made somethin somethin to go with these crackers…

1BEC8E93-A69E-49E1-A1AB-B1E1D4491C73.jpeg

… you’ll just have to read @dandays Food Fight Friday post to find out what it is…

B3CB70FE-BD44-4090-8AEC-8B9F00557F9D.jpeg

These crackers sure did look good on our Mediterranean plate though 😉.

Thank you all for hanging out with me on another @foodfightfriday. It feels good to share a recipe with y’all again, even if our internet is so slow we have to wait a good 65 seconds for every picture to load 🤦🏼‍♀️.

I’ll be out scoping all of the other contenders posts (because, why not?). Catch y’all later!

Pura Vida ✌️

6BF346E8-A6E9-46E3-9EA0-F1038C6625B5.gif

Sort:  

Puradayswhatpants does that last tag say? Great entry, chef! How cool is it that paleotwist mimicked these crackers though. That’s how dope you, your recipes, heart, Steemit activity, gps’ing skills, towncar signaling, etc. all of it... dope!
D682DB54-2F04-4C18-8A92-345E8DB631D1.jpeg

iheartu all the time @puravidaville.

Your mouth is moving so I know you’re talking ish. Town car shmown car, you didn’t want to wait for a taxi either. Who isn’t filthy rich when they are drunk? Haha. I heartu even when I don’t want to. Muah

Wheat free or almond thins? Either way, they look really tasty, @puravidaville.

Glad to hear the two of you are able to do some relaxing now after what sounded like some pretty hectic days there trying to get people to move so you could get things done. Latinoamerican culture man. Gotta love it. :)

We do love it, it’s why we moved here. Sometimes we forget that when we want to get things done though. Oh well, it’ll just take some more time to acclimate.

Sure, either name works well for me. They actually taste pretty good. Almost a little sweetness like a wheat thin, or wheat not. Haha. Thanks for stopping by @glenalbrethsen. We all miss you around the food fight ring…

I'm trying to get back in it, @puravidaville. Commenting on everyone's posts is the first step, I guess. I'm cooking tonight, and it's stuff I haven't done before, so I should have something for next Friday (if I'm not derailed).

I've tried coming up with ideas that aren't cooking related, but still in the arena of food, but haven't had much I've been interested in, so I need to do a better job of that. We'll see. :)

Whatever you decide to do will be great. I’ll keep my ete out for your triple F about last nights dinner. I know I’m not the only one in the gang that misses your contenders :). Enjoy your Sunday @glenalbrethsen!

You did those crackers like a ninja! Ive actually found almond flour to work well in many recipes, weee.

What is this a tag team? You two ganging up on the crew? Making @dandays skin them chickpeas, 😂.

Very nice, very nice.

Every Chef has a few line cooks 🤷🏼‍♀️ What can I say, he can peel two at a time while my small fingers can only do one. Haha.

Yeah, we’ve been a crew @weirdheadaches! Pura-days isn’t messing around. Haha. Seriously though, I love using almond flour. It makes for a more crumbly and sometimes flakey crust, cake, brownie, or whatever. Plus, it’s easy to grind up some almonds and voila, you’ve got flour :)

@puravidaville You have received a 100% upvote from @intro.bot because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Thanks @verifyme! I appreciate the love.

You are just unbelievably creative @puravidaville 😍😍😍 i love crackers!

Aweeee… that’s such a nice thing to say. I love your comments so there. Thanks for checking in on me @cicisaja!

It’s a good flashback.

don’t stop now, you done did it…

Yeah, great song 😊

Good luck in Round 28 of
Food Fight Friday
May your contender survive and not be placed in a permanent food coma.
125BBBF8-726F-41EA-BB39-4F1622EE09F8.gif

I love crackers as a perfect replacement for bread. Thanks for reminding me to make them again some day. I usually make them fully from nuts and seeds which only needs water and no egg. I'll try to share that recipe the next time I make them. Yours also look delicious !

Definitely show me next time you make them. I’d love to make some without the egg. I just made a quinoa pizza crust that turned out good. It’s amazing what a food processor will do to your recipes. I’ll keep me eye out for those crackers @byebyehamburgers.

You didn't disappoint on that teaser. Crackers just ain't crackers without hummus. ;) Hhhmm, now you got me thinking about amaranth crackers. I might just have to experiment with my new little puffed goodies to see what I can whip up. I would definitely be game for Mediterranean night! I am clearing out the fridge this evening with some arugula pesto red lentil pasta. I worked up quite the appetite after pushing my niece on her tricycle this afternoon for my second workout of the day. Have a fantastic weekend my friend! 😊

Oh yum! Pasta, lentils, pesto… it all sounds heavenly. I can’t tell you the last time ive been able to enjoy a pasta. I’ll live vicariously through you.

Yep, I bet your niece is a better gym trainer than anyone you work with. Haha… if anyone’s in need of getting in shape just watch a small person under 5 a couple days a week. They’ll be crushing their weight goals in no time.

Let me know how those amaranth crackers turn out. I’m going to be experimenting with Aquafaba next. I’ve been reading you can make meringues, and other whipped goodies with it. I’ll keep you posted. Enjoy your weekend as well @plantstoplanks 😉

I still haven't worked with aquafaba yet, but I've seen so many amazing things with it! I'll for sure keep an eye out to see what you whip up!

I know, those amazing things have inspired me to “whip” something up. Haha. Right now I have black Aquafaba from the black bean brownies I just made. So I guess my first recipe will be a chocolate one. We’ll see if it’s a fail or a success. :)

Wow, @puravidaville, I was just looking for a good cracker recipe today. Thanks a lot. I will try them tomorrow.

Oh good! Let me know how they turn out. I cooked mine until they were almost burnt to achieve that crispness. I also don’t mind a little over doness in my crackers (is overdoness a word 🤷🏼‍♀️). Looking forward to your results @paleotwist.

@puravidaville, I just could not wait until tomorrow to make these crackers. I was already tasting them without making them. Luckily I bought a big bag of almond flour and I was just dying to open it and try a new recipe. The crackers came out very good and crunchy. I ate all the ugly crumbs and odd shapes one before I could finish breaking them apart. Thanks for the recipe.
20190201_203253.jpg ![20190201_213744.jpg]
Crackers-2.jpg
()

Awesome!!! Anyone loves when someone makes their recipe. I’m so glad they turned out for you. Now, you just need to get on making some homemade hummus to go with them 😉. The cool thing is it looks like your go at it yielded much more than mine. Even better! They look great @paleotwist. Enjoy your weekend my friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61276.74
ETH 2421.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63