Traveling On A Food Fight Friday

in #fff5 years ago

Hola folks!

Welcome to another edition of Food Fight Friday where we talk everything and anything food. I’m sitting in the airport writing this episode because we just can’t miss a Friday food slinging fight. @dandays will meet me in San Francisco in a few days, and from there we take off to Costa Rica! I can’t believe we are here already. It still hasn’t hit us even though we packed up and got rid of our entire apartment. Maybe when we touch down in paradise it’ll finally sink in. Until then, no excuses :)

F62217A1-58EF-4911-8B67-D5DF4CDB775C.jpeg

Rutabaga Nachos

These are what I like to call “travel nachos”. I don’t call them travel nachos because you can travel with them, I call them travel nachos because this is what I eat before I travel, apparently.

I’ve been on such a Rutabaga kick lately, with having to abstain from potatoes, rutabagas come right in and save the substitute (I mean, save the day). They are just as versatile as a potato but are flavor packed with a tad more sweetness not unlike a sweet potato 😉. Usually I make fries from them but this time I decided to bake them into chips and top them with red lentils, taco spices, bells, green onion, cherry tomatoes, and guacamole.

The guacamole is ONLY for me since my sweet Dandays is allergic to avocado. Speaking of avocado allergies, I accidentally fed my husband a veggie sandwich from Whole Foods that had avocado in it today. He didn’t notice until his tongue started swelling and throat began tingling to which I immediately responded by giving him two Benadryl tablets. Needless to say he quickly became tired, passed out, and consequently left me to finish the apartment packing by myself. I guess that’s what I get for trying to poison my husband 🤦🏼‍♀️

853FA8AD-43EA-4737-9ED7-9C2AC830D488.jpeg

Protein Pancakes

These are what I like to call Travel Protein Pancakes. I call them travel protein pancakes not because you can travel with them but because when you’re traveling and don’t have a recipe readily available it’s quite okay to venture into your pictures and pick out your recent kitchen conquests to showcase for @foodfightfriday.

These protein packed cakes were made from spinach, protein powder, maca, coconut milk, stevia, coconut flour, pumpkin spice, and cinnamon. I topped them with almond butter and berries to which I thought “delicious”, Dandays on the other hand was not convinced. I basically made a pancake out of my morning smoothie, which is brilliant in my opinion.

CD59536E-B658-4419-879F-8EDADA5371A9.jpeg

Emergency Almonds

When traveling I never leave home without a hefty bag of almonds. This is for several reasons but the first of them is because I need to eat all of the time. I’m kind of like a gremlin in that respect. Sure, you’re not supposed to feed them after midnight nor ever get them wet, and I’m just a raging lunatic when I’m hungry, but they are pretty much the same thing 🤷🏼‍♀️ Careful though, when you bring an economy size snack people expect you to share 🧐.

7497954A-59EC-4DFE-AD4F-5914E2B011C7.jpeg

To boot, I also showed up to the airport with a 24oz freshly pressed green juice. It was equipped with cucumber, celery, kale, spinach, lemon, and ginger. Between that, the almonds, the protein pancakes and rutabaga nachos my hour long flight should be a cinch.

Thank you all for stopping by the food fight ring today. I’ll be checking out your contenders in just a few hours 😉

Pura Vida from San Francisco ✌️

Sort:  

Nice tag beautifullest, yup, I looked this time. 🧐 I’m secretly hoping when you check a response or something in your mothers car she finally uses her frikkin @tenaj account. “Hi, Jan.”

Great post again gorgeous. iheartu all the time.

Hahaha 🤣🤣🤣 I read this comment to her and she goes “what’s at tenaj”? Haha… 🤦🏼‍♀️ I heartu all the time. Muah, and thanks babe!

It has been ages since I ate rutabagas myself. I had to look up what It was because I didn't know the english word so thanks for learning me something today. Good luck with the traveling and the foodfightfriday @puravidaville !

Thanks @byebyehamburgers. How would you say rutabagas? I just discovered them a couple months ago and am so hooked. They always make a good French fry. Always nice having you stop by :)

You are definitely the rutabaga queen!! Love that alternative for nachos. I was thinking of you yesterday when I was going through a magazine and saw beet fries. I thought those would be right in your wheelhouse, too. I'm definitely going to have to experiment more with all those yummy root veggie fry options.

I'm giddy for your new adventure! I'm sure it will be an adjustment, but oh how much fun to have a new place to explore! I'm also going to be totally jelly of the tropical fruit that I am sure you will have access to in abundance. Enjoy these last few days stateside!

Yum, beet fries! I bet they look prettier than any other fry for sure. One of our friends swears by carrot fries. You gotta try the rutabaga ones. You’ll love it.

Thanks @plantstoplanks! It’s getting exciting for sure. We are very fly by the seat of our pants when we get there so I’m interested to see what my posts will be about. I don’t I’ll be able to create recipes like I do here right away. I can’t even partake in the fruit yet so don’t be jelly 🤦🏼‍♀️ Hopefully next year I can eat all of the fruit I want though :)

Where do you find the time? I got my entry in so late last week that #fff was nice enough to use my very late entry this week. I'm a big boy and could have taken the fish-slap I deserved. Be safe in all of your travels and God Bless.

That's a good one.😁😁😁

I’m barely keeping up right now @thebigsweed but I’m putting forth an honest effort :) You’re doing great! Don’t let a little fish slap deter you.

Oh my gosh mt Dear Puravidaville, you are probably in Costa Rica by now. How exciting, wow! I wish I was there too. The food looks delicious of course. I wish you all tbe best Sweetie 💖😍💖

Not yet, I’m with my Mom in San Francisco until later this week and then we are off. Thanks for stopping by @lenasveganliving! I look forward to writing my fruits and veggies Monday posts from Costa Rica !

do you eat the travel nachos because it doesnt upset your stomach during flights? They reall look yummy ans with all the tomatoes and stuff

They were so yummy! I eat them weather I’m traveling or not but traveling was just my excuse to share them 🤷🏼‍♀️ Haha… thanks for stopping by @purplerabbit. By the way, your name is dope!

First you poison your husband and then drug him that was super funny :-)

Yeah, 🤷🏼‍♀️ I guess I’m up for wife of the year now :). Haha… thanks for stopping by @hefziba.

I can't believe you're on your way, and you managed to do an amazing nacho post like this...I have been eyeing the rutabagas at the market lately. You have now convinced me to buy one, who knows what I'll come up with. Such an exciting time for you!!!!! Glad you packed your trusty almonds....you can conquer anything as long as you have a bag of those! Protein queen! Can't wait to hear more as you travel along :) Be safe, and happy travels my kitchen elf!

Thank you @birdsinparadise! It’s quite exciting to be on our first leg of our two legged tour 😝. You have to grab those rutabagas. I’m excite to see what you come up with. I’ve made hash browns, fries, cinnamon pumpkin bites, and have used them in stews of all kinds. You’ll love them :). Thanks for always dropping a nice word my sweet friend 🥰

Good luck in Round 24 of
Food Fight Friday
May your contender survive and not be placed in a permanent food coma.
125BBBF8-726F-41EA-BB39-4F1622EE09F8.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66499.54
ETH 3203.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14