Straight Outta Pumpkins: Food Fight Friday

in #fff6 years ago

Hola friends!

Yay! It’s Friday already and that means we have another handful of food to toss your way. Since we are approaching the 4th week of October I think it’s only appropriate for me to talk about pumpkins.

You know when you walk into the grocery store the pumpkin display calls your name. You walk in all laser focused and motivated to karate chop your list and get out, but you hear something coming from the mound of pumpkins. “Psst, psst…@dandays, Dannndayyysss, pumpkins are so good with chocolate. Psst, psst… @plantstoplanks, plantstoooooplannnkkkss, you know you want to create something from me… psst psst… @weirdheadaches, weirdheadddachessss, c’mon use me in your kitchen…” Anyone else hear their haunting halloweeny voice?

I mean, you’ve surely seen some of the pumpkins this year, right?! Maybe it’s every year, but I’ve noticed that the variety is endless. I’m talking a plethora of all sorts of pumpkin madness: white pumpkins, flat pumpkins, warty pumpkins, big ones, small ones, half orange half white ones… carving pumpkins, baking pumpkins, decoration pumpkins and of course food fighting pumpkins.

If you’re still pretending to not know what I’m talking about, here… have a gander yourself.

98773B3B-D80A-4021-8986-BEBC6A9DDF5B.jpeg

Pumpkins are everywhere and it’s a sin to not make something pumpkin-y in October. Why not make some Pumpkin Pie Bites just for @foodfightfriday 🤷🏼‍♀️ because if you think pumpkin pie is delicius then check out these guys.

E45176BA-AC69-4DD1-A178-173EF328C506.jpeg

Pumpkin Pie Bites- straight outta pumpkins

Ingredients:

1 Cup almond butter
1/2 Cup pumpkin purée
1/4 Cup maple syrup (pure)
2 Tsp pumpkin pie spice
1 Tsp vanilla extract
1/4 Tsp sea salt
1/2 Cup chocolate chips

652CD778-976E-4624-9E3F-F1283889325B.jpeg

Your start up will look like this. Can anyone guess my favorite store? Haha

Pumpkin First

Pre-heat your oven on 375F. Line a cookie sheet with foil and set aside.

0348EAB7-EC2F-4BB9-992D-DD51351B69B7.jpeg

Start by de-stemming the pumpkin. I don’t know any other way to do this than to carve from the top like I’m making a jack-o-lantern. Now cut the pumpkin in half from head to toe (stem to bottom).

1BAE45F4-AAA5-4155-A406-A0F016A07D3F.jpeg

Take a spoon and scoop out all of the stringy guts and seeds. I place my seeds in a colander to be washed and prepped for roasting.

8C5A24F3-90C3-48C5-94F4-3F5BAE94EE4A.jpeg

Place the pumpkins cut side down on the foiled cookie sheet and cover with more foil.

37176872-A4D8-43B4-91BA-B5553F3734C7.jpeg

Pop them in the oven for 45 minutes to 1 hour or until the pumpkins are soft to the fork.

340E198D-2CE0-4848-959E-1D3A2F7BD79B.jpeg

I made extra sure my pumpkins were soft to fork… Now peel the skin off trying not to burn yourself. A wise person might wait until they are cooled but I like a little bit of heat so I went for it ‘straight outta oven’.

1C86199E-93DD-4468-8BBF-ACB5111BE164.jpeg

Place the softened pumpkin in your blender and blend that bad boy.

763F519F-5851-46AD-BCBC-33078A49D9B7.jpeg

Refrain from the impulse to add water or other liquid to the pumpkin. Once it gets going it will provide quite enough moisture for itself (did that make sense? 🤦🏼‍♀️).

1C4CA552-E7D3-49D1-803A-0A1E57EA53E6.jpeg

Cookies Second

Add pumpkin purée, almond butter, maple syrup, pumpkin spice, vanilla extract and sea salt in a medium to large bowl.

7A130AFD-5304-4734-ADA5-DF700D7A27D3.jpeg

Then add the chocolate chips and fold in evenly. This is also where you can add more or less chocolate to taste.

E6A01006-C42B-4593-9EE9-27BB1DD13110.jpeg

With your oven pre-heated to 350F and a fresh cookie sheet lined with foil and greased with oil let’s line these babies up.

64394BAB-9106-401D-BEF4-5794B168707E.jpeg

Spoon dollops of cookie guts onto the baking sheet. The consistency will be more like a pumpkin pie than a cookie. Go ahead and shape them with your spoon.

DA4D3460-5F9B-4403-B5D4-FFB892BA03F9.jpeg

Toss them in the magic machine for 15 minutes or until slightly golden. I tested by touching the cookie and feeling for its backbone. You know, if it pushed back a little then it was done, but if it pushed in easily then add a few more minutes.

Seeds Finally

C93178FA-95E1-4FD9-8CBB-D9303897EA41.jpeg

Ingredients

Sea salt
Black pepper
Cumin
Chili powder
Cayenne pepper
Olive oil
All spices are to taste

Set your oven to 375F. With your fresh clean seeds in a bowl, pour in a little olive oil, sprinkle with all of the spices and put a lid on. Shake it all up thoroughly.

C563251D-820E-431A-83F8-D89D9C3A7D24.jpeg

Spread the seeds out on your lined baking sheet and roast for 30 minutes.

1D75BC60-503D-4BEF-ABDC-770553C032D0.jpeg

If after 30 minutes the seeds aren’t browning, kick your oven up to 400F and roast for 5-10 more minutes.

EC19566F-ED98-46CD-9BCC-76412532C2FA.jpeg

Voila!

You’ve got a big fat pumpkin purée ball to the dome and fresh roasted seeds to wash that down. The Pumpkin Pie Bites were just a bonus :)

8BF5F73E-2204-403A-B72D-FEBD4D1BBADA.jpeg

Store them in your refrigerator and enjoy for exactly one whole day. That’s how long it took for my husband and I to kill them. What? It’s called a winter coat…

Thanks food flinging funky fanatics for catching all of this pumpkin straight to the face. Tossing food wouldn’t be the same without you.

06A5E67B-70F9-40AA-A524-89744A327B1C.jpeg

As always Pura Vida ✌️

Sort:  

I must say, that's one thing I've never actually tried with pumpkin... eating it I mean. We've carved up plenty, but never cooked one up to eat. Our oldest boy wore one on his head one year as a mask, but that's about the closest a pumpkin has got to one of our mouths. Lol

What…? Not even pumpkin purée you buy in the grocery store? Have you had pumpkin pie or bread? Man, you’re missing out @sivehead. Pumpkin season is my favorite season because pumpkin pies are abundant and I think I make the best chocolate chip pumpkin bread 😋. I don’t know what I’d do without pumpkin, I guess not eat pumpkin but that would sukkk.

Nope, not even a teaspoon full of pumpkin has ever passed my lips. It is Halloween soon though, so maybe I'll try some of the off cuts of our, what is it you call them again?... jack-o-lanterns.

Yes, cook them first and mash them with a fork then get back to me. I’ll send you over an easy peasy pumpkin cheesy recipe. Of course it won’t have cheese but it’ll be delish all the same.

I’m all about Smashing Pumpkins...the band yeah they are pretty good but the satisfaction of seeing one explode....dude thing I guess.
Maybe I should start smashing those pumpkins into a bowl and making some yummy treats like you have presented here.
Bravo and Happy Food Fight Friday.

Oh NO… you’re the kid running around smashing all of the neighbors jack-o-lanterns…? What a turd. Haha

Definitely smash some up to make some yummy bread. I bet your kids will happily help ya. Happy triple F to you, belated 🤦🏼‍♀️

Oh me.... no I just smash my own if those hoodlum kids haven’t got to them yet. Lol

Do you guys carve pumpkins?

Yep, with power tools. Lol

Awesome! We do too. It was @dandays first time last year so now we are pretty serious about it this year. Plus, cleaning and roasting seeds is always fun for the kiddos. Not we have any, we don’t, but kiddos in general. Haha

What an amazing selection of pumpkins. I picked some up this week, just waiting for the right recipe.... I want to make a dessert, your cooking look divine and I lived how u used the seeds too!

Oh good!!! My favorites are pumpkin breads… I add a lot of chocolate chips so it’s essentially pumpkin chocolate bread 🤷🏼‍♀️ Anyway, thank you for the compliments @celestialcow. I’ll look forward to your pumpkin creation :)

So it's totally normal that I read this with echoes of gangsta rap in my head, right? Ok, good. That's what I thought. 😉

I have to admit I'm often pretty lazy and buy canned pumpkin puree. Duh, I totally miss out on roasting some yummy seeds! Geez, I totally need to remember that and grab some fresh punkins this weekend. Those cookies are pretty dope, though. I may or may not be able to eat an entire batch in one sitting...😜

Oh yea, it’s totally normal. Cooking pumpkins is serious thug business 😉. This was actually my first time cooking straight from the pumpkin. I did it because @jasmink had mentioned to me that she couldn’t find pumpkin purée in the markets in Finland so thought…”hmmm… there’s an idea, make it straight outta pumpkin”. Haha… Because of her I know now to pack a couple treasured cans of purée with me. 🤷🏼‍♀️

The cookies are more like Pie Bites. They are flourless so really taste less like a cookie and more like a bite of pumpkin pie. Haha… that probably didn’t need the explanation.

You should definitely get yourself a pumpkin and cook it up. It’s more work but worth the experience if you’ve never done it. Dandays and I have a pumpkin carving contest every year so I usually make seeds then, maybe this year I’ll make bread too.

Thanks for stopping by @plantstoplanks, it’s always a pleasure having you over.

I roast all kinds of other squash, so might as well add pumpkin to the list! Love how we all learn and take inspiration from each other. 😊

And I totally want to see the outcome of your pumpkin carving!! @dksart totally blows me out of the water when it comes to anything artistic, so I generally leave any opportunity for pumpkin carving up to him. I'm definitely a buy the kit and follow a pattern kind of gal.

On a final note-- cookies vs pie bites. It doesn't matter what they're called as long as they get in my belly. 😜

Haha… the more in the belly the merrier :).

Oh, I definitely get the kit as well but am always still impressed with how great my pumpkin turns out. I mean some of the stencils are quite advanced. Haha…

Dandays first pumpkin carving was last year and now he’s hooked. We’ve decided to make this an annual competition since we are both not competitive at all 🤦🏼‍♀️ Don’t worry, we’ll make a post about it I’m sure.

Thank you for the squash reminder. For some reason I always forget about those while grocery shopping.

Just in case you’re unfamiliar with Poison Arrow lyrics by ABC, click that link and check out this remixed chorus.

“Who went back to back @curie? You did, you did.”

Congratulations beautifullest, gangsterest, cookinest, chef!

Sincerely,
Lgik.

You’re the best @dandays!

Beautiful although i cant comment think too much about this stuff lol. Great job 😎

I totally understand. Thank you for the support anyway! You’re doing great @weirdheadaches.

Congratulations @puravidaville! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63237.60
ETH 2647.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81