Hot Sauce! Food Fight Friday Goes SpicysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fff6 years ago


It's Food Fight Friday time and I'm ready to party!

Tonight, I made my own hot sauce. Maybe I've been watching too many interviews of people eating spicy wings...

Regardless, it was a fairly simple recipe, which we'll walk through together.

It begins with this humble trio:

ingredients

I didn't have fresh jalapenos, but these jarred ones did the trick.

And of course, this humble habanero pepper:

habanero

Next up was dicing the onion, jalapenos, and cutting open the habanero.

onion cutting

pan of veggies

Into the pan they went, along with some garlic...the type @glenalbrethsen and I like to use, which is already minced and stays fresh in the jar for over a year. I fried this all on some olive oil for about 5 minutes.

In went the diced tomotoes! The recipe said to cook these until they begin to break down, and estimated 5 minutes, but I cooked them longer (7-8). White vinegar, salt and sugar were also added.

tomatoes added

Next up, everything transferred to our old school food processor, which works great and we picked up for $3 at an estate sale a few months ago.

food processor

"Puree until smooth"

Finally, we strained the sauce over a sieve, giving us a nice liquid hot sauce we can use just like Tabasco or Tapatio.

straining sauce

Finally, I cooled the sauce in the fridge for a couple hours before making an omelette to put it on. There was a nice amount of heat that burned perfectly!

hot sauce

 


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://steemmaker.com/hot-sauce-food-fight-friday-goes-spicy/

Sort:  

I really like hot sauce and omelette too.
I do not know if you like tomato sauce withthe pasta, but I think that It could be very special and tasty.
Try it!🍝

Posted using Partiko Android

I do like tomato sauce with pasta, but I don't care for spicy pasta. Maybe I'll give it a try!

What up Hot Ones reference!
Nice post. 😊

You got it!

I make omelette's all the time but have never thought to put hot sauce on them. Sauce does make food come alive though; it's the difference between bland and tasty.

It was mostly because I needed to try out my hot sauce and it was Friday (no meat Friday), and it was all I had. I usually eat my eggs over easy, but figured an omelette would be a good spot to put the hot sauce on.

It's a good sauce, but more tomato-ey than I prefer and I'll be figuring out how to tamp that down for next time...

Aaah, that sounds so good! I like a little burn. I've been loading everything up with Cayenne pepper and chili pepper flakes recently. There's just something about knowing that my tongue is on fire that makes the dish taste better. Ha ha.

Heh, I love it on some things, like wings and nachos, and have really craved heat lately.

I wasn't feeling well a bit ago and I started loading everything up with spicy. I had cayenne on most things, garlic, pepper flakes, hot sauce. All too raise the temperature a bit and get the sinuses flowing. Whatever it takes! I did stop short of going out to get wasabi. ;)

That looks delicious! Too bad my stomach doesn't do hot to well anymore :(. Use to be able to eat Fire lol. Ive made bbq sauce before but this looks good, maybe a milder version in my future...

Thanks, the flavor is ok but not much different than Tapatio or Tabasco.

Eager to make something with a little more flavor!

Looking forward to it.

Dope! I love hot sauce, never thought to make my own… light bulb maybe. Your food processor seems right up my alley :)

Way to keep it interesting @protegeaa. Bringing the heat each week.

Thanks! I had more hot sauce yesterday and I'll confirm-I am definitely bringing the heat.

It's hotter than Rubio's hot sauce.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh like it hot, like make my eyeballs sweat hot. Keep em coming.

Then I recommend this recipe. :-)

Yeah, but use it fast or it will melt the bottom out of your glass container! ;-)

It's not lava!

I'm not quite so brave as to eat the ghost pepper stuff. Yet. 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

As some wise person once said (or should say) "Hot is in the eye of the beholder." It's possible he was referring to women, but it applies to food as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64189.84
ETH 2796.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65